About Community Internet Intensity Maps

Introduction

This web site is intended to tap the abundant information available about earthquakes from the people who actually experience them. By taking advantage of the vast numbers of Internet users, we can get a more complete description of what people experienced, the effects of the earthquake, and the extent of damage, than traditional ways of gathering felt information. And best of all, with your help we can do so almost instantly.

By contributing your experience of the earthquake, either immediately afterward, or whenever it is possible for you to do so, you will have made a contribution to the scientific body of information about this earthquake. You will also ensure that your area has been represented in the compilation of the shaking map. This is a two-way street. Not only will you add valuable information on the extent of ground shaking and damage, but in the process we hope you will learn more about how other communities fared and gain a greater understanding of the effects of earthquakes.

What is Intensity?

There are two different ways to describe the size of an earthquake. One is magnitude (often described by the Richter magnitude), which is related to the amount of energy released by the earthquake source. It is usually determined by measuring the amplitude (height) or by modeling the character of the earthquake waves recorded by a seismograph.

The second way of describing earthquake size is to measure earthquake effects. Intensity is a qualitative measure of the strength of ground shaking at a particular site. We currently use the Modified Mercalli Intensity Scale (see below). Each earthquake which is large enough to be felt will have a range of intensities. Usually (but not always) the highest intensities are measured near the earthquake epicenter and lower intensities are measured farther away. Roman numerals are used to describe intensities to distinguish them from magnitudes. For example, the magnitude of the Northridge earthquake was 6.7. The intensities ranged from IX (violent) close to the epicenter, to V's (moderate) at distances of about 60 - 200 miles away, and finally not felt at distances far away.

More information on Magnitude and Intensity.

Calculating Community Internet Intensities

The Community Internet Intensity Map (CIIM) summarizes the questionnaire responses provided by you and other Internet users. An intensity number has been assigned to each community from which we have received a filled-out CIIM questionnaire; each intensity value reflects the effects of earthquake shaking on the people and structures in the community. For convenience, we define "communities" to be postal code regions. We consider all the filled-out questionnaires from a given postal code and assign a single intensity to the postal code. The form of the questionnaire and the method for assignment of intensities are based on an algorithm developed by Dengler and Dewey (1998) for determining a "Community Decimal Intensity". The decimal intensity values computed by the algorithm of Dengler and Dewey have been rounded off to integers for the Community Internet Intensity Map and represented by Roman Numerals.

A Community Internet Intensity Map is made and updated every few minutes following a significant earthquake and then less frequently as additional data is received. Postal code areas for which data have been received are color-coded according to the intensity scale below the map; postal codes in gray are those for which we have not yet received data. At first only a few postal codes will have intensities assigned, but over time others will be assigned as data come in. Individual postal code zones may change color as a new consensus is reached (that is, data from more respondents may change the average intensity value for a postal code). Check back often and remember to reload your browser to see the update! Note the date and time on the lower left corner of the map to keep track of the updates.

NOTE: Since earthquake effects may vary significantly over small distances, the average intensity shown for an entire postal code may differ from the intensity that would be suggested by effects at a single location within the postal code. Further, the input data is raw and unchecked, and may contain errors. Finally, some details of the procedure for preparing the CIIM may change as we gain experience with data collection from the Internet. Hence, the nature of the CIIM may evolve with time. See the Disclaimer for other considerations.

Examples of intensity maps

Examples of scientific evaluation of intensity for some significant earthquakes, and the associated intensity maps, can be seen by following links marked "intensity map" or "intensity report" from the page Significant Earthquakes of the 20th Century.

Bakun's Predicted Distance Attenuation

We have recently started making a variety of plots of your responses. The distance vs. intensity plot contains three different overlayed plots: 1. The calculated intensity for each postal code plotted against the distance from the center of the postalcode to the epicenter. 2. The average distance for each intensity (at 0.1 Intensity increments). 3. The predicted distance attenuation developed by Bakun and collaborators for the magnitude of the earthquake.

We are currently using these equations: * Eastern USA: MMI = 1.41 + 1.68Magnitude - 0.00345Distance - 2.08(log Distance)/(log 10) * Western USA: MMI = 5.07 + 1.09Magnitude -3.69*(log Distance)/(log 10);

These equations provide a predicted intensity vs. distance curve for various regions based on the known magnitude of the earthquke. Given enough intensity data, it is possible to find the magnitude of an unknown earthquake using these equations.

Notice that above the calculation is for MMI and not for CII.

CIIM and TriNet "ShakeMaps"

The Community Internet Intensity Map (CIIM) is made to be compatible with TriNet "ShakeMap" Rapid Instrumental Intensity Maps (RIIM). Like the "ShakeMap", the CIIM's are centered on the epicenter (star) of the earthquake and have similar overall dimensions as the "ShakeMaps". However, the "ShakeMap" RIIM is based on point location measurements of the ground motion as recorded by seismometers, and the shaking intensity is inferred by empirically relating the recorded ground motions to intensities and then interpolating the ground motions between the recording sites. The "ShakeMap" RIIM does not represent any averaging over postal code regions.

CIIM and Modified Mercalli Intensities

In Canada and the United States, intensities have for many years been assigned on the basis of the Modified Mercalli Intensity scale (MMI) (Wood and Neumann, 1931; Richter, 1958). The Modified Mercalli Intensities are based in part on postal questionnaires, in which respondents summarize the effects of shaking in their communities. In addition, Modified Mercalli Intensities are based on field study in areas of significant damage, on damage maps produced by emergency response agencies, on reports produced by the earthquake engineering community, and on press reports. For a destructive earthquake, the process of collecting and interpreting damage data and preparing a map of Modified Mercalli Intensities takes months.

The procedure used to calculate the Community Internet Intensity values was calibrated so that the Community Internet Intensity values should, on average, be similar to the Modified Mercalli Intensity values for the same communities (Dengler and Dewey, 1998). We hope that the CIIM will serve as a useful first approximation to Modified Mercalli Intensity maps, in theweeks to months following damaging earthquakes during which the final Modified Mercalli Intensity maps are being prepared. We also envision that the data collected from the CIIM questionnaires will be incorporated into final assignment of Modified Mercalli Intensities. Nevertheless, because there are major differences in the data and procedures used to assign the two types of intensities, the Community Internet Intensities cannot be considered to be identical to the GSC Modified Mercalli Intensities.

Importance of Your Contribution, and a Caveat

It is important that you fill out a questionnaire, even if your postal code is already colored-in on the Community Internet Intensity Map for the earthquake. The more questionnaires that are received for your postal code, the more reliable will be the average intensity assigned to that postal code. Even if you did not feel the earthquake, your questionnaire is important: in areas of lighter shaking, the "not-felt" responses are needed to prevent the average postal-code intensities from being too high.

Since, even with our encouragement to send in "not-felt" responses, it is more likely that those that felt the earthquake will login and respond to the questionnaire than those who did not feel it, there may be cases where the lowest intensities are biased slightly upward.

References

Dengler, L. A., and J. W. Dewey (1998).
An Intensity Survey of Households Affected by the Northridge, California, Earthquake of 17 January, 1994,
Bulletin of the Seismological Society of America,
Vol. 88, p. 441-462.

Dewey, J. W., B. G. Reagor, L. Dengler, and K. Moley (1995).
Intensity distribution and isoseismal maps for the Northridge, California, earthquake of January 17, 1994,
U. S. Geological Survey Open-File Report 95-92,
35 pp.

Richter, C. F. (1958).
Elementary Seismology.,
W. H. Freeman and Company, San Francisco, 135-149.

Wald, D. J. V. Quitoriano, L. A. Dengler, and J. W. Dewey (1999).
Utilization of the Internet for Rapid Community Intensity Maps
Seismological Research Letters, 70, No. 6, 680-697.

Wood, H. O., and F. Neumann (1931).
Modified Mercalli Intensity Scale of 1931,
Bulletin of the Seismological Society of America,
Vol. 21, p. 277-283.

Au sujet des cartes d'intensité Internet

Introduction

Ce site Web est destiné à capter tous les renseignements disponibles au sujet des séismes ressentis par diverses personnes. En profitant du grand nombre d'utilisateurs Internet, nous pouvons obtenir une description plus complète des témoignages des effets du séisme et de l'étendue des dommages comparativement aux moyens de cueillette de renseignements traditionnels. En plus, grâce à votre aide, nous pouvons le faire de manière presque instantanée. En partageant votre expérience, soit immédiatement après un séisme ou au moment opportun, vous contribuerez à renseigner davantages la communauté scientifique. Vous allez également permettre à votre région d'être représentée dans la compilation des cartes de secousse. En outre, ce n'est pas seulement que vous faites parvenir de précieux renseignements sur l'étendue des secousses du sol, mais nous espérons qu'au cours du processus vous en aurez appris davantage sur la façon dont les autres quartiers ont vécu l'événement et que vous aurez acquis une meilleure compréhension des effets des séismes.

Qu'est-ce que l'intensité?

Il existe deux façons de décrire l'étendue d'un séisme. L'une est la magnitude (souvent appelée magnitude de Richter), qui est reliée à la quantité d'énergie libérée par le déclenchement du séisme. Elle est habituellement déterminée par la mesure de l'amplitude (hauteur) ou par l'observation du caractère des ondes sismiques enregistrées par un sismographe.

La deuxième façon de décrire l'étendue d'un séisme consiste à mesurer les effets d'un séisme. L'intensité est une mesure qualitative de la force des secousses du sol d'une région en particulier. Nous utilisons actuellement l'échelle d'intensité Mercalli modifiée (voir ci-dessous). Chaque tremblement de terre assez important pour être ressenti aura sa gamme d'intensité. Habituellement (mais pas toujours) les plus grandes intensités sont mesurées près de l'épicentre du tremblement de terre et les intensités plus petites en sont mesurées plus loin. Les chiffres romains sont utilisés pour décrire les intensités afin de les différencier des magnitudes. Par exemple, la magnitude du séisme de Northridge était de 6,7. Les intensités vont de IX (violente) près de l'épicentre à V (modérée) à des distances d'environ 60 à 200 miles de là, et, en dernier lieu, le séisme n'etait pas ressenti du tout sur de longues distances.

Pour plus de renseignements visitez Magnitude et intensité.

Mesurer les intensités Internet

Les cartes d'intensité Internet (CIIM) résument vos réponses et celles des utilisateurs Internet au questionnaire. Un numéro d'intensité a été assigné à chaque quartier duquel nous avons reçu un questionnaire CIIM rempli; chaque valeur d'intensité reflète les effets des secousses sismiques sur les personnes et les structures au sein du quartier. Pour des raisons de commodité, nous définissons les "quartiers" par le code postal des régions. Nous prenons en compte tous les questionnaires remplis selon le code postal et donnons une seule intensité par code postal. Le formulaire du questionnaire et la méthode de désignation des intensités sont basés sur un algorithme mis au point par Dengler et Dewey (1998) afin de déterminer une « intensité décimale collective ». Les valeurs d'intensités décimales calculées par l'algorithme de Dengler et Dewey ont été arrondies en nombres entiers pour les cartes d'intensité Internet et sont représentés en chiffres romains.

Une carte d'intensité Internet est créée et mise à jour dans les minutes suivant un séisme important. Ensuite, la mise à jour se fait moins fréquemment au fur et à mesure que les données supplémentaires sont reçues. Les régions des codes postaux pour lesquelles nous avons reçu des données sont codées par couleur selon l'échelle d'intensités sur la carte ci-dessous; les codes postaux en gris sont ceux pour lesquelles nous n'avons pas encore de données. Au départ, seulement quelques codes postaux auront des intensités désignées, mais d'autres seront désignées au fur et à mesure que les données rentreront. Les zones des codes postaux individuels peuvent changer de couleur lorsque nous arrivons à un nouveau consensus (c'est-à-dire lorsque les données d'un plus grand nombre de répondants peuvent changer la moyenne de la valeur d'intensité pour un code postal). Vérifier régulièrement et souvenez-vous de recharger votre navigateur pour visualiser les mises à jour! Prenez en note la date et l'heure situées dans le coin inférieur gauche de la carte, afin de voir les dernières mises à jour.

NOTE : Étant donné que les effets d'un séisme peuvent varier considérablement sur de courtes distances, l'intensité moyenne représentée par un code postal en entier peut être différente de celle suggérée par les effets pour un même emplacement à l'intérieur d'un même code postal. De plus, les données d'entrées sont primaires et non vérifiées, et peuvent contenir des erreurs. En dernier lieu, certains détails du processus de préparation de la carte d'intensité Internet peuvent changer au fur et à mesure que nous recueillons des données sur Internet. Par conséquent, la nature des cartes d'intensité Internet peut évoluer avec le temps. Voir le Désistement de responsabilité pour les autres considérations.

Des exemples des cartes d'intensité

On peut voir des exemples de l'évaluation scientifique de l'intensité en plusieurs régions causée par quelques séismes importants, et les cartes d'intensité y associées, en suivant les liens dont le titre contient le mot "intensité" ou la phrase "carte des isoséistes", en commençant à la page Principaux séismes du Canada au XXe siècle.

Atténuation prédite de distance selon Bakun

Nous avons récemment conç une variété de représentations graphiques grâce à vos réponses. La distance par rapport à la représentation graphique de l'intensité contient trois différentes représentations graphiques superposées : 1. L'intensité mesurée pour chaque code postal est représentée par rapport à la distance du centre du code postal à l'épicentre. 2. La distance moyenne pour chaque intensité (aux quantités différentielles de 0,1 unités d'intensité). 3. L'atténuation prédite de la distance mise au point par Bakun et ses collaborateurs pour la magnitude du séisme.

Nous utilisons actuellement ces équations : * L'Est des États-Unis : MMI = 1,41 + 1,68Magnitude - 0,00345Distance - 2,08(log distance)/(log 10) * L'Ouest des États-Unis : MMI = 5,07 + 1,09Magnitude -3,69*(log distance)/(log 10);

Ces équations donnent une intensité prédite par rapport à la courbe de la distance pour les différentes régions selon la magnitude connue du séisme. Si suffisamment des données d'intensité sont disponibles, il est possible de trouver la magnitude d'un séisme inconnu en utilisant ces équations.

Prenez connaissance que le calcul ci-dessus est pour les intensités de Mercalli modifiées et non pour les intensités Internet.

Les cartes d'intensité Internet et les cartes de secousse Trinet

La carte d'intensité Internet (CIIM) est conçue pour être compatible avec les cartes de secousse Trinet des cartes rapides d'intensité instrumentale (RIIM). Les cartes d'intensité Internet sont centrées sur l'épicentre (étoile) du séisme et ont des dimensions d'ensemble similaires à celles des cartes de secousse. Cependant, les cartes de secousse RIIM sont basées au point des mesures de localisation des mouvements du sol tels qu'enregistrés par les sismomètres, et l'intensité de secousse est déduite en reliant empiriquement l'enregistrement des mouvements du sol en intensités et ensuite en interpolant les mouvements du sol entre les sites d'enregistrement. Les cartes de secousse RIIM ne représentent pas la moyenne par rapport aux régions des codes postaux.

Les cartes d'intensité Internet et les intensités Mercalli modifiées

Au Canada et aux États-Unis, pendant de nombreuses années les intensités ont été désignées selon l'échelle d'intensité Mercalli modifiées (Wood et Neumann, 1931; Richter, 1958). Les intensités Mercalli modifiées se fondent en partie sur les questionnaires postaux, à l'intérieur desquels les répondants résument les effets de la secousse au sein de leur quartier. De plus, les intensités Mercalli modifiées se fondent sur les études de terrain dans les régions ayant subi des dommages importants, sur les cartes de dommages produites par les agences d'intervention en cas d'urgence, sur les rapports produits par les études des effets sismiques et sur l'information de presse. Pour un séisme destructeur, le processus de collecte et d'interprétation des données sur les dommages et la préparation d'une carte d'intensités Mercalli modifiées prennent des mois.

Le processus pour calculer les valeurs d'intensité Internet a été calibré de façon à ce que les valeurs doivent, en moyenne, être similaires aux valeurs d'intensités Mercalli modifiées et ce, pour les mêmes quartiers (Dengler et Dewey, 1998). Nous espérons que les cartes d'intensité Internet serviront en tant que première approximation utile aux cartes d'intensités Mercalli modifiées au cours des semaines et des mois suivant les séismes dévastateurs afin de permettre la préparation des cartes finales. Nous envisageons également que les données recueillies provenant des questionnaires des cartes d'intensité Internet seront intégrées à la désignation finale des intensités Mercalli modifiées. Néanmoins, puisqu'il y a de grandes différences dans les données et les procédures utilisées pour déterminer les deux types d'intensité, les intensités Internet ne peuvent pas être considérées comme étant identiques aux intensités Mercalli modifiées de la CGC.

L'importance de votre participation et recommendation

Il est important de remplir un questionnaire même si votre code postal est déjà affiché en couleur pour un séisme sur les cartes d'intensité Internet. Plus il y aura de questionnaires reçus pour votre code postal, plus la moyenne d'intensité déterminée sera fiable pour ce code postal. Même si vous n'avez pas ressenti le séisme, votre questionnaire est important : dans les régions de secousse légère, les réponses « non ressenti » sont nécessaires afin que la moyenne des intensités par code postal ne soit trop élevée.

Malgré nos encouragements à envoyer les réponses « non ressenti », il est plus probable que les personnes qui ont ressenti le tremblement de terre débuteront une session et répondront au questionnaire que celles qui n'ont rien ressenti. Il y aura possiblement des cas biaisés où des plus faibles intensités seront rapportées comme un peu plus élevées.

Références

Dengler, L. A., and J. W. Dewey (1998).
An Intensity Survey of Households Affected by the Northridge, California, Earthquake of 17 January, 1994,
Bulletin of the Seismological Society of America,
Vol. 88, p. 441-462.

Dewey, J. W., B. G. Reagor, L. Dengler, and K. Moley (1995).
Intensity distribution and isoseismal maps for the Northridge, California, earthquake of January 17, 1994,
U. S. Geological Survey Open-File Report 95-92,
35 pp.

Richter, C. F. (1958).
Elementary Seismology.,
W. H. Freeman and Company, San Francisco, 135-149.

Wald, D. J. V. Quitoriano, L. A. Dengler, and J. W. Dewey (1999).
Utilization of the Internet for Rapid Community Intensity Maps
Seismological Research Letters, 70, No. 6, 680-697.

Wood, H. O., and F. Neumann (1931).
Modified Mercalli Intensity Scale of 1931,
Bulletin of the Seismological Society of America,
Vol. 21, p. 277-283.