Interpreting seismograms

Seismic data plots (seismograms) provide a visual record of earthquake activity, as well as other vibrations in the earth caused by natural and man-made phenomena. For example, seismographs located near shipping routes are able to detect the passage of freighters and cruise ships. Those near railway lines detect trains as they pass close by. Seismographs in exposed areas, especially along the West Coast, will detect vibrations in the ground caused by high winds. These instruments are sensitive to even the most minute vibrations, and are able to detect signals from earthquakes occuring thousands of kilometres away.

Time Scale

As shown below, each data plot has a time scale associated with it. The starting time for each plot is found in the lower left corner and time increases to the right. The time scale is in Universal Time (also known as Greenwich Mean Time, or GMT). You must subtract 8 hours to get Pacific Standard Time(PST), or 7 hours for Pacific Daylight Time(PDT). You must also consider the date of the plot because 0600 on the 12th of June GMT is 2300 on the 11th of June PDT.

Time Scale

Station Signals

Station Codes

Each horizontal signal line (a "trace") represents the strength, or "amplitude", of the signal received at a single station over the period of an hour. The traces all begin and end at the same time, making it easy for the seismologist to see the difference in time between seismic events at several stations. Each station is part of the Canadian National Seismograph Network and has a unique identifier code of from 3 to 5 letters. For example, PNT is the station code for Penticton, BC. BIB is Bowen Island, BC. For the seismic plots there is a 3 letter code added to the station suffix code that tells the seismologist information about the characteristics of the seismograph signal. For example, ".BHZ" indicates a broadband, high gain seismograph that is oriented on the Z axis (which measures the "up and down" motion of the earth). The ".EHZ" code indicates an extremely shortperiod, high gain, Z axis seismograph. All of the signals on the displayed seismic plots have a Z axis orientation so that comparisons are easily made between seismograms. By looking at the time differences between the arrival of the same signal at several stations, and knowing how fast the signal is traveling through the earth's crust, trigonometry can be applied to determine the exact location of the earthquake.

Earthquake Signals

Earthquake Signals

The sample set of signals on the right are those of a small local earthquake. You will notice that the left, or "leading" edge of each "burst" is very square. This indicates that the received signal became very strong in a very short time, which is typical for an earthquake signal. For these plots, the signal amplitude is so high that it reaches the maximum level and is "clipped" so that it looks like it has a flat top. After a while, the signal level begins to fall off as the earthquake energy dissipates gradually over time. Other bursts may appear shortly after the first arrival. These may be aftershocks or they may be other signals from the same earthquake that have travelled more slowly through the earth. There are 2 primary signal types, called S and P waves, and they travel in different ways and at different speeds. How do we know this is a small earthquake? Well, you will notice that the signal was not received on several stations that are farther away. The energy released by the earthquake was not strong enough to travel longer distances, so only those stations close by were able to detect it. You can also see that the signal reached some stations earlier than others. This information will be used to determine the earthquake location.

Other Signal Sources

Seismographs are so sensitive that they can detect very small vibrations in the earth. For example, the CNSN station at Watts Point (WPB), north of Squamish, BC, detects trains as they pass by.

The signal from a train is noticeably different from that of an earthquake because it gradually builds up strength as the trains gets closer, reaches its maximum as the train reaches its "closest point of approach", or CPA, and then gradually diminishes as the train moves farther away. You may also see train signals on station BLBC, near Blue River, BC, that is near the rail lines that connect Vancouver with Edmonton.

Train Signal

Similarly, a large cruise ship generates a lot of vibration in the earth. Our station at Bella Bella (BBB), along the Pacific Coast, receives signals from ships on their way to and from Alaska. The signal has a character that is similar to a train in that it builds gradually to the CPA, then diminishes as it leaves the area. The signal is less steady though so it may have several peaks and valleys throughout. Here is a sample of a ship passing by BBB:

Ship Signal

Explosions are also detected by seismographs. Their signals look very similar to earthquakes. Mining and construction activities regularly appear on stations nearby. Here is an example from Texada Island, BC.

Explosion Signal

Most are very small signals that will be detected by only a few stations in the near vicinity. However, large explosions, such as those from Nuclear Testing, can be detected on a large number of stations. Canada provides seismic data to international organizations engaged in the monitoring of nuclear testing throughout the world.

Another source of noise in the seismic network is wind. Strong winds, like those off the West Coast of BC, can create vibrations that can last for many hours. Our site on the Brooks Peninsula, on the North West side of Vancouver Island, is on a mountaintop that is frequently hit by high winds. Here is a sample of the signal created by wind noise:

Wind Signal

System Noise

Signals from the seismic stations make their way to EarthquakesCanada data centres via various electronic means. Essentially, each station has its own computer system that digitizes the data from its seismometer and transmits the digital data via one or more of satellite, terrestrial microwave, UHF radio, telephone modem, or the Internet. If any of the components in the system should fail, or become degraded by atmospheric or other disturbances, there will be a loss of signal or some form of noise introduced. The computer system at the station also calibrates itself whenever it is restarted, which can can generate a strange but easily recognized transient burst:

Calibration Signal

Séisme de méga-chevauchement - L'accumulation des contraintes

Les tracés de données sismiques (sismogrammes) offrent un enregistrement visuel de l’activité sismique ainsi que des autres vibrations engendrées dans la Terre par des activités de l’homme ou des phénomènes naturels. Par exemple, les sismographes placés près des routes de navigation peuvent détecter le passage des cargos et des navires de croisière. Ceux qui sont installés près des voies ferrées permettent la détection du passage des trains. Les sismographes placés en des endroits exposés, surtout le long de la côte Ouest détecteront les vibrations du sol causées par de grands vents. Ces instruments sont sensibles même aux vibrations les plus infimes et peuvent détecter les signaux produits par des séismes éloignés de milliers de kilomètres.

Échelle de temps

Comme on peut le voir ci-dessous, une échelle de temps est associée à chaque tracé de données. L’heure du début de chaque tracé se trouve à l’angle inférieur gauche et le temps augmente en allant vers la droite. L’échelle de temps utilise le temps universel (TU) (aussi parfois appelé temps moyen de Greenwich ou en anglais Greenwich Mean Time, GMT) dont il faut soustraire 8 heures pour obtenir l’heure normale du Pacifique (HNP) ou 7 heures pour obtenir l’heure avancée du Pacifique (HAP). Il faut en outre prendre en considération la date du tracé puisque, par exemple, 0600 h TU le 12 juin correspond à 2300 h HAP le 11 juin.

Échelle de temps

Signaux de stations

Signaux de station

Codes de stations Chaque ligne horizontale de signal (une «trace») représente l’intensité, ou «amplitude», du signal capté à l’emplacement d’une station individuelle pendant un intervalle d’une heure. Toutes les traces ont les mêmes heures de début et de fin, ce qui permet au sismologue de constater facilement la différence de temps entre des événements sismiques en plusieurs stations. Chaque station intégrée au Réseau national sismologique canadien est identifiée par un code unique comportant de 3 à 5 lettres. Par exemple, le code PNT est celui de la station de Penticton (C.-B.) et le code BIB est celui de la station de l’île Bowen (C.-B.). Sur les tracés sismiques, un code de trois lettres est ajouté comme suffixe au code de la station afin d’indiquer au sismologue des caractéristiques du signal du sismographe. Par exemple, «.BHZ» indique un sismographe large bande à gain élevé orienté suivant l’axe Z (mesurant les mouvements de haut en bas de la Terre). Le code «.EHZ» indique un sismographe de période extrêmement courte à gain élevé également orienté suivant l’axe Z. Tous les signaux représentés sur les sismogrammes affichés proviennent de sismographes orientés suivant l’axe Z pour permettre les comparer facilement. L’application de relations trigonométriques permet de déterminer l’emplacement exact du séisme d’après les différences de temps d’arrivée d’un même signal en plusieurs stations puisque l’on connaît la vitesse à laquelle se déplace les signaux dans l’écorce terrestre.

Signaux de séismes

Signaux de séismes

Signaux de séismes Le jeu échantillon de signaux reproduit à droite est représentatif de ceux enregistrés lors d’un petit séisme local. On remarque que le côté gauche ou «du début» de chaque «impulsion» est très net. Cela indique que le signal capté est devenu très intense en un très court intervalle et cette forme de la trace est caractéristique du signal d’un séisme. Sur ces tracés, l’amplitude du signal est tellement grande qu’elle atteint le niveau maximum et est «écrêtée», ce qui lui confère au signal un sommet plat. Après un certain temps, l’intensité du signal commence à décroître alors que l’énergie du séisme se résorbe graduellement en fonction du temps. D’autres impulsions peuvent se manifester peu de temps après l’arrivée du premier signal. Elles peuvent résulter de répliques ou d’autres signaux engendrés par le même séisme et qui se sont déplacés à moindre vitesse dans la Terre. Il y a deux types de signaux primaires, appelés ondes S et P, et ils se déplacent de manière différente et à différentes vitesses. Comment sait-on qu’il s’agit d’un petit séisme? On constate que le signal n’a pas été capté par plusieurs stations plus éloignées. L’énergie libérée par le séisme n’était pas suffisante pour que le signal parcoure de plus longues distances, ce qui fait que seulement les stations à proximité ont pu le détecter. On constate en outre que le signal a atteint certaines stations plus tôt que d’autres. Cette information servira à déterminer l’emplacement du séisme.

Autres sources de signaux.

Les sismographes sont tellement sensibles qu’ils permettent de détecter de très faibles vibrations dans la Terre. Par exemple, la station CNSN installée à la pointe Watts (WPB), au nord de Squamish (C.-B.) détecte le passage des trains.

Le signal engendré par le passage d’un train est perceptiblement différent de celui d’un séisme par le fait que son intensité augmente progressivement à mesure que se rapproche le train; il atteint une valeur maximalelorsque le convoi atteint le «point d’approche minimale» ou PAM, puis diminue progressivement à mesure que s’éloigne le train. On peut également voir des signaux engendrés par le passage de trains sur les sismogrammes enregistrés par la station BLBC, près de Blue River (C.-B.), qui se trouve près de la ligne de chemin de fer reliant Vancouver &aagrave; Edmonton.

Signal engendré par un train

Il en va de même pour les gros navires de croisière qui engendrent beaucoup de vibrations dans la Terre. Notre station de Bella Bella (BBB), installée le long de la côte du Pacifique, capte les signaux de navires à destination ou en partance de l’Alaska. Ces signaux présentent des caractéristiques similaires à ceux engendrés par les trains en ce sens que leur intensité augmente progressivement jusqu’au PAM, puis diminuent d’intensité lorsque le navire quitte la région. L’intensité du signal cependant est moins uniforme et il peut présenter plusieurs pics et creux pendant l’intervalle où il est capté. Voici un exemple de signal enregistré par un navire passant au large de BBB.

Signal de navire

Les sismographes détectent en outre les explosions. Les signaux qu’elles engendrent sont très similaires à ceux des séismes. Les activités minières et de construction sont souvent enregistrées par les stations situées à proximité. Voici un exemple enregistré à l’île Texada en C.-B.

Signal engendré par une explosion

La plupart du temps, il s’agit de très faibles signaux qui ne sont captés que par quelques stations dans les environs. Cependant, les grosses explosions, comme celles résultant d’essais nucléaires, peuvent être détectées par un grand nombre de stations. Le Canada fournit des données sismiques à des organismes internationaux responsables de la surveillance des essais nucléaires dans le monde.

Le vent constitue une autre source de bruit dans le réseau sismologique. Les forts vents, comme ceux balayant la côte ouest de la C.-B., peuvent engendrer des vibrations pendant des intervalles de plusieurs heures. Notre site sismographique de la péninsule Brooks, au nord-ouest de l’île de Vancouver, est installé au sommet d’une montagne souvent balayée par de grands vents. Voici un exemple de signal engendré par le bruit du vent :

Signal engendré par le vent

Bruit du système

Les signaux captés par les stations sismiques sont acheminés aux centres de données de Séismes Canada par diverses voies électroniques. Chaque station est essentiellement équipée de son propre système informatique qui numérise les données enregistrées par son sismographe pour transmettre ces données numériques par un ou plusieurs satellites, par système terrestre de micro-ondes, par liaison radio UHF, par modem téléphonique ou par Internet. Si l’une ou l’autre des composantes du système tombe en panne, ou est perturbée par des conditions atmosphériques ou autres, il y a perte du signal ou un bruit d’une forme ou une autre est introduit. En outre, le système informatique à la station s’étalonne automatiquement chaque fois qu’il est remis en marche, ce qui peut engendrer une étrange impulsion transitoire qui est cependant facile à reconnaître.

Signal d’étalonnage