Seismic Hazard Calculations

The damage potential of an earthquake is determined by how the ground moves and how the buildings within the affected region are constructed. Expected ground motion can be calculated on the basis of probability, and the expected ground motions are referred to as seismic hazard.

In Canada, the evaluation of regional seismic hazard for the purposes of the National Building Code (NBC) is the responsibility of the Geological Survey of Canada. The seismic hazard maps prepared by the Geological Survey are derived from statistical analysis of past earthquakes and from advancing knowledge of Canada's tectonic and geological structure. On the maps, seismic hazard is expressed as the most powerful ground motion that is expected to occur in an area for a given probability level. Contours delineate regions likely to experience similarly strong of ground motions. A simplified seismic hazard map indicates the relative seismic hazard across Canada.

The seismic hazard maps and earthquake load guidelines included in the National Building Code are used to design and construct buildings to be as earthquake proof as possible. The provisions of the building code are intended as a minimum standard. They are meant to prevent structural collapse during major earthquakes and thereby to protect human life. The provisions may not, however, prevent serious damage to individual structures.

Seismic Hazard Information in the National Building Code (NBC)

Building design for various earthquake loads is addressed in sections 4.1.8, 9.20.1.2, 9.23.10.2, 9.31.6.2, and 6.2.1.3 of the 2005 NBC. In addition, a table in Appendix C starting on page C-11 of Division B, volume 2 of the Code provides ground motion design values for many of the larger communities across Canada. While the National Building Code is chiefly intended for new buildings (Article 1.1.1.1 of Division A), appendix A (appendix note A-1.1.1.1) outlines the principles by which the code should also be applied to the use and modification of existing buildings.

The seismic hazard is described by spectral-acceleration values at periods of 0.2, 0.5, 1.0 and 2.0 seconds. Spectral acceleration is a measure of ground motion that takes into account the sustained shaking energy at a particular period. It is a better measure of potential damage than the peak measures used by the 1995 code, and thus will improve earthquake-resistant design. Peak Ground Acceleration is still used for foundation design. All parameters are expressed as a fraction of gravity. The four spectral parameters allow the construction of uniform hazard spectra (UHS) for every place in Canada.

Ground motion probability values are given in terms of probable exceedence, that is the likelihood of a given horizontal acceleration or velocity being exceeded during a particular period. The probability used in the 2005 NBC is 0.000404 per annum, equivalent to a 2-per-cent probability of exceedence over 50 years. This means that over a 50-year period there is a 2-per-cent chance of an earthquake causing ground motion greater than the given expected value.

Most buildings are well designed for withstanding vertical forces, but the horizontal component of ground motion is critical to earthquake-resistant building design. In the urban areas of coastal British Columbia, for example, 40-per-cent gravity is a typical seismic load at an appropriate probability for buildings. A building, designed to tolerate a sideward pushing force equal to 40 per cent of its own weight, should prove earthquake resistant.

Calculation of Seismic Hazard

The seismic hazard at a given site is determined from numerous factors. Canada has been divided into earthquake source regions based on past earthquake activity and tectonic structure. The relation between earthquake magnitude and the average rate of occurrence for each region is weighed, along with variations in the attenuation of ground motion with distance. In calculating seismic hazard, scientists consider all earthquake source regions within a relevant distance of the proposed site.

The four spectral acceleration seismic hazard maps show levels of ground shaking at periods of 0.2, 0.5, 1.0 and 2.0 seconds (equivalent to frequencies of 5, 2, 1, and 0.5 Hertz). This is important because different buildings are susceptible to different frequencies of earth motion, and damage is frequently associated with a resonance between earthquake ground motion and the building's own natural frequency. A high-rise of ten stories or more may sway with a natural period of 1 or 2 seconds, whereas in response to the same earthquake a brick bungalow across the street may vibrate at nearly 10 Hertz.

The UHS is a description of the seismic hazard at a site in terms of building height. See sample UHS for 4 Canadian cities.

Consequently, low brick buildings can be severely damaged by a moderate (magnitude 5.5) local earthquake that has most of its energy in the high-frequency range. High-rises may be affected more acutely by larger, more distant events. In the Mexican earthquake of 1985, most of the severe damage in Mexico City, 400 kilometres from the earthquake's epicentre, occurred in high-rise buildings with natural periods near 2 seconds, due to ground amplification by poor foundation conditions.

In building construction and design, not only the size of a probable earthquake should be considered, but also the nature of the ground motion most likely to occur at the site. Seismic hazard calculations provide part of this information. As our understanding of earthquakes and of their effects on engineered structures continues to develop, the seismic provisions of the National Building Code will be revised to enhance public safety and minimize earthquake losses.

Determine National Building Code of Canada seismic hazard values for your site - Use the on-line seismic hazard calculators.

For more information about the National Building Code of Canada, visit the Institute for Research in Construction, National Research Council of Canada.

For further information, please contact the nearest office.

Évaluation de l'aléa sismique au Canada

Les dommages causés par un tremblement de terre dépendent de la façon dont le sol bouge et dont les édifices sont construits dans la région touchée. Les mouvements prévus du sol, qui correspondent à l'aléa sismique, sont calculés en fonction de la probabilité.

Au Canada, c'est la Commission géologique du Canada qui est chargée d'évaluer l'aléa sismique régional aux fins du Code national du bâtiment (CNB). Elle dresse les cartes des zones sismiques à partir d'une analyse statistique des tremblements de terre survenus par le passé et à la lumière des connaissances fraîchement acquises au sujet de la structure tectonique et géologique du Canada. Sur les cartes, l'aléa sismique est représenté comme le mouvement du sol le plus violent susceptible de se produire dans une région selon une probabilité donnée. Les contours délimitent les zones où les secousses ressenties devraient être de même intensité. Une carte simplifiée de l'aléa sismique indique l'aléa sismique relatif au Canada.

Le CNB renferme des cartes de l'aléa sismique et des lignes directrices relatives aux charges sismiques, dont on se sert pour concevoir et construire des bâtiments aussi résistants que possible aux secousses sismiques. Les dispositions du Code national du bâtiment constituent une norme minimale. Elles ont pour but de prévenir l'effondrement des structures au cours des séismes violents et de protéger ainsi des vies humaines. Dans certains cas, cependant, elles ne sont pas suffisantes pour empêcher que certaines structures subissent de graves dommages.

Information sur l'aléa sismique dans le Code national du bâtiment (CNB)

Les sections 4.1.8, 9.20.1.2, 9.23.10.2, 9.31.6.2 et 6.2.1.3 du CNB - Canada 2005 traitent de la conception des bâtiments en fonction de différentes charges sismiques. Son appendice C, qui commence à la page C-11 de la division B du volume 2, contient un tableau indiquant les valeurs de calcul des mouvements du sol d'un grand nombre de collectivités d'importance au Canada. Le Code national du bâtiment s'applique d'abord et avant tout aux nouveaux bâtiments (article 1.1.1.1 de la division A), mais son appendice A (note A 1.1.1.1) énonce les principes de son application aux bâtiments existants.

L'aléa sismique est défini par des valeurs de l'accélération spectrale à des périodes de 0,2, 0,5, 1,0 et 2,0 secondes. L'accélération spectrale est une mesure du mouvement du sol qui tient compte de l'énergie des secousses soutenues pour une période donnée. Elle se révèle un meilleur indicateur des dommages potentiels que les valeurs maximales utilisées dans le Code de 1995, de sorte que la conception parasismique s'en trouvera améliorée. L'accélération maximale du sol est encore utilisée pour la conception des fondations. Tous les paramètres sont exprimés en fraction de g (gravité). Les quatre paramètres spectraux permettent de construire un spectre de l'aléa uniforme pour chaque endroit au Canada.

Les valeurs de probabilité de mouvements du sol expriment le dépassement probable, c'est-à-dire la probabilité qu'une accélération horizontale ou vitesse déterminée soit dépassée au cours d'une période donnée. La probabilité utilisée dans le CNB - Canada 2005 est de 0,000404 par année, ce qui équivaut à une probabilité de dépassement de 2 % sur 50 ans. Cela signifie que durant une période de 50 ans, il y a 2 % de l'aléa qu'un séisme cause un mouvement du sol plus important que prévu.

La plupart des bâtiments sont conçus pour résister aux forces verticales. Cependant, il faut absolument tenir compte de la composante horizontale du mouvement du sol si l'on veut concevoir des bâtiments capables de résister aux tremblements de terre. Dans les zones urbaines de la Colombie Britannique côtière, par exemple, une gravité de 40 % correspond à une charge sismique type à un niveau de probabilité approprié. Les bâtiments devraient être conçus pour résister à une force de poussée latérale égale à 40 % de leur poids.

Calcul de l'aléa sismique

L'aléa sismique à un endroit donné dépend d'un grand nombre de facteurs. Le Canada a été divisé en régions à source sismique en fonction de leur activité sismique passée et de leur structure tectonique. La relation entre la magnitude des tremblements de terre et leur fréquence moyenne est considérée pour chaque région, ainsi que les variations de l'atténuation des mouvements du sol avec la distance. Lors du calcul de l'aléa sismique, les scientifiques tiennent compte de toutes les régions à source sismique qui se trouvent à une distance donnée du site envisagé.

Les quatre cartes délimitant les zones sismiques en fonction de l'accélération spectrale montrent l'intensité des secousses sismiques à des périodes de 0,2, 0,5, 1,0 et 2,0 secondes (qui équivalent à des fréquences de 5, 2, 1, et 0,5 Hz respectivement). Ces données sont importantes parce que tous les immeubles ne sont pas sensibles aux mêmes fréquences des mouvements du sol et que les dommages sont fréquemment causés par une résonance entre les mouvements du sol dus aux tremblements de terre et la fréquence propre de l'immeuble. La période propre d'un immeuble de 10 étages ou plus peut être d'une ou de deux secondes, tandis que la fréquence de vibration d'un bungalow en briques qui se trouve de l'autre côté de la rue est d'environ 10 Hz.

Le spectre de l'aléa uniforme exprime l'aléa sismique à un endroit donné en fonction de la hauteur du bâtiment. Voyez des exemples de spectres de l'aléa uniforme pour quatre villes canadiennes.

En conséquence, les bâtiments en briques de faible hauteur peuvent être gravement endommagés par un séisme local de magnitude moyenne (5,5) qui libère la majeure partie de son énergie dans l'échelle des hautes fréquences. Les bâtiments très élevés peuvent être davantage abîmés par des séismes plus puissants et plus éloignés. Tel fut le cas du tremblement de terre survenu au Mexique en 1985. La plupart des dommages sérieux causés dans la ville de Mexico, située à 400 km de l'épicentre du séisme, se sont produits dans des édifices élevés ayant des périodes propres de près de deux secondes, en raison de l'amplification du sol attribuable au piètre état des fondations.

En conception et en construction de bâtiments, il faut considérer non seulement la magnitude des séismes probables, mais aussi la nature des mouvements du sol prévisibles à l'emplacement des bâtiments. Les calculs de l'aléa sismique fournissent une partie de cette information. Les dispositions du CNB ayant trait aux secousses sismiques seront révisées à la lumière des nouvelles connaissances au sujet des séismes et de leurs répercussions sur les ouvrages de génie civil, afin d'améliorer la sécurité du public et de réduire le plus possible les pertes dues aux tremblements de terre.

Trouvez dans le Code national du bâtiment les valeurs de l'aléa sismique de votre localité - Utilisez les calculatrices de l'aléa sismique en ligne.

Pour plus de renseignements au sujet du CNB, visitez l'Institut de recherche en construction du Conseil national de recherches du Canada.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, contactez le bureau le plus près.