The 1925 Magnitude 6.2 Charlevoix-Kamouraska earthquake

Location and Magnitude

  • Local Date and Time: February 28, 1925 at 9:19:20 pm Eastern time
  • UT Date and Time: 1925-03-01 02:19:20 UT
  • Magnitude: MW 6.2; MS 6.2; mb 6.5
  • Maximum Intensity: Mercalli VIII
  • Approximate location
  • Latitude: 47.8° N
  • Longitude: 69.8° W
  • Depth: 10 km
Damage in Shawinigan

Press Release

On February 28, 1925, one of the most powerful earthquakes of the 20th century rocked the lives of thousands of people -- an earthquake measuring 6.2 on the moment magnitude scale occurred in the Charlevoix-Kamouraska area. The earthquake was so strong that the shock was felt more than 1,000 kilometres from the epicentre. In the weeks that followed, dozens of aftershocks continued to shake the area, keeping the inhabitants living in fear. Over the years, numerous studies were published on this earthquake, some as recently as in 1999!

The text below provides an overview of various aspects pertaining to this earthquake. For more information on these various aspects, click on the title of each paragraph.

Hypocenter of the main shock

It is now known that the earthquake occurred along the section of the St. Lawrence near Île aux Lièvres and that its depth was about 10 km beneath the surface, i.e. approximately at the average depth of Charlevoix earthquakes.

Magnitude

In 1925, the magnitude of the earthquake was undetermined as the Richter Scale did not exist! In 1954, however, the magnitude of this earthquake was approximated at 7 on the Richter Scale. Later on, this magnitude was recalculated to 6.7 on the Richter scale, and 6.2 on the moment scale. However, there is still room for debate; many values have been calculated and depend on the type of seismic wave that is used and even on the seismograph station that recorded the earthquake!

Damage

Damage was reported in the epicentral zone as well as in Quebec City and in Shawinigan. Thanks to his field trips and his collection of newspapers of the time, seismologist E.A. Hodgson gave us numerous descriptions and pictures of damage of regions affected by the earthquake. Chimneys and unreinforced masonry buildings were found to be particularly sensitive to ground vibrations.

Intensity (Mercalli)

The earthquake was felt more than 1000 km from the epicentre. For numerous localities in Northeastern North America, felt reports were recently reexamined to build a new isoseismal map.

Aftershocks

Aftershocks represent the readjusting of the Earth's crust following the main shock. In Charlevoix-Kamouraska, tens of aftershocks were felt during the weeks that followed. Many were recorded on the Ottawa seismograph.

Impact on the public

According to eyewitness reports and newspaper articles, it is know that the earthquake had a strong impact on the local population. Although the earthquake did not cause any direct casualties, uneasy feelings were widespread among the population. This anxiety was reinforced by the numerous aftershocks that occurred in weeks following the main shock.

Did you feel this earthquake in 1925? Do you know someone who felt it and could provide us with a description?

If so, please fill in the Intensity questionaire

Scientific work in 1925

Worldwide, the earthquake was recorded by 29 seismograph stations, including many in Canada. Seismologist E.A. Hodgson studied these recordings. Following several visits in the field, he described the impact of the main shock and its aftershocks.

References

Various aspects of the February 28, 1925 earthquake were described in numerous scientific papers. Many papers were published decades later!

Charlevoix-Kamouraska Seismic Zone

More strong earthquakes in Charlevoix-Kamouraska?

Le séisme de Charlevoix-Kamouraska en 1925

Emplacement et la magnitude

  • Date et heure locale: Le 28 février 1925 à 21h 19m 20s heure de l'Est
  • Date et heure TU: 1925-03-01 02h19m20s TU
  • Magnitude: MW 6,2; MS 6,2; mb 6,5
  • Intensité maximale: Mercalli VIII
  • L'emplacement approximatif
  • Latitude: 47,8° N
  • Longitude: 69.8° O
  • Profondeur: 10 km
Dégâts à Shawinigan

Communiqué de presse

Le 28 février 1925, un des plus forts séismes du XXe siècle au Canada perturbe la vie de milliers de gens. Un tremblement de terre de magnitude 6,2 sur l'échelle de moment se produit alors dans la région de Charlevoix-Kamouraska. La secousse est telle que le séisme se fait ressentir à plus de 1000 kilomètres de l'épicentre. Pendant les semaines qui suivent, des dizaines de répliques sismiques continuent de secouer la région et contribuent à maintenir dans la crainte les habitants de l'endroit. Ce séisme a fait l'objet de nombreux travaux scientifiques, certains effectués aussi récemment qu'en 1999!

Le texte qui suit est un survol de différents aspects de ce séisme. Pour plus de renseignements sur ces aspects, cliquer sur le titre du paragraphe.

Foyer du choc principal

Nous savons maintenant que le séisme s'était produit dans le secteur du St Laurent, proche de l'Île aux Lièvres et que la profondeur du foyer était d'environ 10 km sous la surface, donc dans la moyenne des séismes de cette région.

Magnitude

En 1925, on n'a pu établir la magnitude du séisme puisque l'échelle de Richter n'existait pas encore! Toutefois, en 1954, la magnitude de ce séisme a été établie à 7 sur l'échelle de Richter. Par la suite, la magnitude fut révisée à environ 6,7, et à 6,2 sur l'échelle des moments. Mais le débat n'est pas clos; plusieurs valeurs ont été calculées et existent suivant le type d'onde sismique utilisée et même suivant la station sismologique qui a enregistré le séisme!

Dommages

Les dommages furent importants dans la zone épicentrale, de même qu'à Québec et à Shawinigan. Par ses visites sur le terrain et ses recherches des journaux de l'époque, le sismologue E.A. Hodgson nous a légué des descriptions et des photos de dommages des régions touchées par le séisme. Les cheminées et les édifices en maçonnerie non-armée ont été particulièrement sensibles aux vibrations.

Intensité (Échelle de Mercalli)

Le séisme fut ressenti à plus de mille kilomètres de distance de l'épicentre. Pour de nombreuses localités du Nord-Est de l'Amérique du Nord, la façon dont le séisme fut ressenti fut réexaminé récemment permettant de dresser une nouvelle carte d'intensité.

Répliques

Les répliques résultent du réajustement de la croûte terrestre qui suit le choc principal. Dans Charlevoix-Kamouraska, des dizaines de répliques sismiques furent ressenties dans les semaines qui suivirent. Plusieurs furent enregistrées par le sismographe d'Ottawa.

Impact sur la population

Par les descriptions des journaux de l'époque et les témoignages des gens qui ont vécu cet événement, on sait que le séisme a eu un fort impact sur la population locale. Bien que le séisme n'ait causé aucune victime directe, le sentiment d'insécurité a gagné une bonne partie de la population locale. Cet émoi fut maintenu par le grand nombre de répliques sismiques qui se produisirent dans les semaines suivant le choc principal.

Aviez-vous ressenti ce séisme en 1925? Connaissez-vous quelqu'un qui l'a ressenti et qui pourrait vous en donner une description?

Si oui, remplissez le formulaire décrivant ce qui avait été ressenti à ce moment-là: Formulaire d'intensité

Travail scientifique en 1925

Le séisme fut enregistré par 29 stations sismologiques dans le monde dont plusieurs au Canada.e L sismologue E.A. Hodgson a analysé ces enregistrements. Suite àplusieurs visites sur le terrain après le séisme, il a aussi décritleseffets du choc principal et des répliques.

Bibliographie

L'événement du 28 février 1925 a fait l'objet de plusieurs analyseset descriptions scientifiques. Plusieurs d'entre elles ont été publiéesdes dizaines d'années plus tard!

La zone sismique de Charlevoix-Kamouraska

D'autres forts séismes dans Charlevoix-Kamouraska?