The 1929 Magnitude 7.2
"Grand Banks" earthquake
and tsunami

Location and Magnitude

  • Also known as the Laurentian Slope earthquake and the South Shore Disaster
  • Local Date and Time: November 18, 1929 at 5:02 pm Newfoundland time
  • UT Date and Time: 1929-11-18 20:32 UT
  • Magnitude: MW 7.2; MS 7.2; mB 7.1
  • Maximum Intensity: Rossi Forel VI
  • Latitude: 44.69° N
  • Longitude: 56.00° W
  • Depth: 20 km

1929 cover page

* Now thought to be 28, la Research


On November 18, 1929 at 5:02 pm Newfoundland time, a major earthquake occurred approximately 250 km south of Newfoundland along the southern edge of the Grand Banks. This magnitude 7.2 tremor was felt as far away as New York and Montreal (see isoseismal map of felt area below). On land, damage due to earthquake vibrations was limited to Cape Breton Island where chimneys were overthrown or cracked and where some highways were blocked by minor landslides. A few aftershocks (one as large as magnitude 6) were felt in Nova Scotia and Newfoundland but caused no damage.

One of many breaks in the transatlantic cables caused by the submarine slump.

The earthquake triggered a large submarine slump (an estimated volume of 200 cubic kilometres of material was moved on the Laurentian slope) which ruptured 12 transatlantic cables in multiple places (locations of cable breaks can be seen as small red triangles on the isoseismal map) and generated a tsunami (a large induced sea wave). The tsunami was recorded along the eastern seaboard as far south as South Carolina and across the Atlantic Ocean in Portugal.

1929 Isoseismal map

Isoseismal Map

All intensities are reported according to the Rossi-Forel scale. Intensities record the effects of earthquake shaking and do not represent damage caused by the tsunami.

Seismologists at Canada's Dominion Observatory determined the original intensity values by sending questionnaires to local postmasters (here's a sample intensity questionnaire response from Lewisporte, Newfoundland). Data took weeks to collect and months to interpret. Today we are able to produce similar intensity maps within a day or two of the earthquake through the many on-line reports filled out by the general public on our "Did you feel an earthquake?" page.

Recent examination of the 1929 reports provided revised earthquake shaking intensity values for localities in eastern Canada and the United States

Tsunami devastates the Burin Peninsula, Newfoundland.

Approximately 2 1/2 hours after the earthquake the tsunami struck the southern end of the Burin Peninsula in Newfoundland as three main pulses, causing local sea levels to rise between 2 and 7 metres. At the heads of several of the long narrow bays on the Burin Peninsula the momentum of the tsunami carried water as high as 13 metres. This giant sea wave claimed a total of 28 lives - 27 drowned on the Burin peninsula and a young girl never recovered from her injuries and died in 1933. This represents Canada's largest documented loss of life directly related to an earthquake, although oral traditions of First Nations people record that an entire coastal village was completely destroyed by the tsunami generated by the year 1700 magnitude 9 Cascadia earthquake off the coast of British Columbia. More than 40 local villages in southern Newfoundland were affected, where numerous homes, ships, businesses, livestock and fishing gear were destroyed. Also lost were more than 280,000 pounds of salt cod. Total property losses were estimated at more than $1 million 1929 dollars (estimated as nearly $20 million 2004 dollars).

Detail map of damage to the Burin peninsula

Extent of damage from the 1929 tsunami on Burin Peninsula, Newfoundland (modified from Whelan, 1994). Village names in bold indicate where lives were lost.

Photographs

Most of the photographs are courtesy of the Provincial Archives, Government of Newfoundland and Labrador (PANL). Click on the thumbnail images for larger images

The home of Steven Henry Isaacs
PANL image A 2-149

The home of Steven Henry Isaacs of Port au Bras, which was towed back to shore after being swept out to sea by the tsunami and anchored to the fishing schooner Marian Belle Wolfe

Destroyed house
PANL image A 2-146

Remnants of a destroyed dwelling, Port au Bras.

Cleaning of debris
PANL image A 2-147

Cleanup along the shore. Note the masts of a submerged sailing ship in the bay, possibly the Port au Bras harbour. One such vessel was refloated and able to resume fishing the following season.

Remains of a house
PANL image A 1-141

Remains of a comercial building
PANL image A 1-45

Fishing gear destroyed
PANL image A 2-150

Destroyed remnants of coastal homes, businesses, wharfs and fishing gear.

Lord Cove's buildings tossed and smashed

Buildings in Lord's Cove tossed and smashed by the tsunami. Photograph by H.M. Mosdell, from the collection of W.M. Chisholm

The Burin Harbour before the tsunami
PANL image B 6-109

Burin harbour before the tsunami, circa 1920

Relief Supplies

Burin Relief supplies prepared in front of 241/243 Duckworth Street, St. John's during the winter of 1929/30. Photo from Collection 137, No. 739 at the centre for Newfoundland Studies Archives, Memorial University of Newfoundland

While the wave smashed and destroyed many buildings, it simply lifted others off their foundations and floated them away. One general merchandise store, 9 x 17 metres, was moved 60 metres inland and deposited in a meadow, with all its stock left intact on the shelves.

People took to the remaining boats in search of people hanging to debris or trapped in floating homes. In one such home rescuers discovered a sleeping baby, whose family had been drowned on the first floor. A man, swept to sea, swam to another floating house only to find it was his own. The house was later towed back to shore and replaced on its foundation.

The ferocity of the wave was not restricted to the land; it also tore up the seabed. This destruction of the seabed was believed by many Newfoundland fishers to be the dominant factor in poor fish catches during much of the Great Depression. The poor catches seem to be the result of a failure of the bait fishery. This failure involved three species of the open seas (herring, squid and caplin) and has proved hard to pin on the tsunami and its disruption of the nearshore and shoreline sediments.

The day following the tsunami a winter storm moved into the area, dropping temperatures and adding sleet and snow to the survivors' misery. The provincial capital of St. John's and the rest of the world did not immediately know of the devastation caused by the tsunami. The only telegraph line from the Burin Peninsula had, coincidentally and unfortunately, gone out of service just prior to the earthquake. When word did get out, help came quickly. The S. S. Meigle was dispatched from St. John's with a relief committee of the government, doctors and nurses and arrived at Burin on the afternoon of the November 22. Long before the coast was reached wreckage was met, mute evidence of the disaster which had befallen the region. Recovery assistance was also provided by the Red Cross and British and American governments.

Here's a brief exerpt from the November 27, 1929 account from Hon. Dr. Mosdell aboard the Meigle, as reported in the St. John's TheDaily News (Lost At Sea) - "Dwelling houses were reduced to a condition reminiscent of wartime description of the effects of heavy shell fire. Former sites of gardens and meadows now thickly strewn with boulders, some of them as large as casks thrown upon the shore by the devastating force of the tidal wave. Motor boats, stages and wharfs piers lifted bodily and thrown far inland in heaps of ruins. Lord's Cove and Lamaline visited by the relief expedition yesterday here dozen of houses, stores and stages were found thrown bodily into the pond at the head of the harbors, huddled together in one heap of destruction. Some lay upright but half submerged while others lay on their sides, and still others were entirely overturned."

Newspaper accounts and images

1929 newspapers

A sampling of what the country's newspapers were saying about the 1929 earthquake and tsunami

Research

The 1929 Laurentian slope earthquake, along with the 1933 Baffin Bay magnitude 7.3 event indicate that large earthquakes along Canada's eastern continental margin are not uncommon. The new year 2005 National Building Code accounts for the expected level of earthquake shaking from a similar earthquake anywhere along the length of this margin. Although the Grand Banks earthquake occurred only 75 years ago, the general feeling in the scientific community is that similar tsunami-generating earthquakes are very rare.

1929 "Grand Banks" Earthquake and Tsunami Links

General Eastern Canadian earthquake damage references.

Le séisme de magnitude 7,2 et le tsunami de 1929 sur les "Grands Bancs"

Emplacement et la magnitude

  • également appelés séisme du talus laurentien et désastre de la côte sud de Terre-Neuve
  • Date et heure locale: Le 18 novembre 1929 à 17 h 02 heure de Terre-Neuve
  • Date et heure TU: 1929-11-18 20h32m TU
  • Magnitude: MW 7,2; MS 7,2; mB 7,1
  • Intensité maximale: Rossi Forel VI
  • Latitude: 44,69° N
  • Longitude: 56,00° O
  • Profondeur: 20 km
Page couverture 1929

Le 18 novembre 1929 à 17 h 02, heure de Terre-Neuve, un important séisme s'est produit à environ 250 km au sud de Terre-Neuve à la limite méridionale des Grands Bancs. Cette secousse de magnitude 7,2 a été ressentie jusqu'à New York et Montréal (voir la carte isoséismale de la région touchée ci-dessous). Dans les terres, les dommages attribuables aux vibrations sismiques furent limités à l'île du Cap-Breton où des cheminées s'écroulèrent ou se lézardèrent et des routes furent obstruées par des glissements de terrain mineurs. Quelques répliques (dont une aussi grande que magnitude 6) ont été ressenties en Nouvelle-Écosse et en Terre-Neuve mais n'ont causé aucun dommage.

L'une des nombreuses ruptures de câbles transatlantiques causées par le glissement sous-marin.

Le séisme engendra un important glissement sous-marin (un volume, estimé à 200 kilomètres cubes de matériaux, fut déplacé sur le talus laurentien) qui causa la rupture en plusieurs endroits de 12 câbles transatlantiques (les emplacements des ruptures sont représentés par de petits triangles rouges sur la carte isoséismale) en plus d'engendrer un tsunami (une grande vague océanique induite). Ce tsunami fut enregistré le long du littoral maritime orientale au sud jusqu'en Caroline du Sud et jusqu'au Portugal de l'autre côté de l'océan Atlantique.

Carte isoséismale 1929

Carte isoséismale

Toutes les intensités sont signalées suivant l'échelle de Rossi-Forel. L'intensité qualifie les effets des secousses engendrées par le séisme, mais non les dommages causés par le tsunami.

Des séismologues à l'Observatoire fédéral du Canada ont déterminé les valeurs d'intensité originales en envoyant des sondages aux maîtres de poste locaux (voici, par exemple, une réponse en provenance de Lewisporte, Terre-Neuve ). Les données ont exigé des semaines pour la colletion et des mois pour l'interpretation. Aujourd'hui nous pouvons produire des cartes d'intensité semblables moins d'un ou deux jours après le tremblement de terre en utilisant des nombreux rapports électroniques remplis par le grand public à notre page "Vous avez ressenti un tremblement de terre?"

Une inspection récente des rapports de 1929 a fourni des valeurs révisées de l'intensité des secousses séismiques pour des localités de l'Est du Canada et des États-Unis

Un tsunami dévaste la péninsule de Burin (Terre-Neuve).

Approximativement deux heures et demie après le séisme, le tsunami frappa l'extrémité méridionale de la péninsule de Burin à Terre-Neuve sous forme de trois ondes principales augmentant par endroits le niveau de la mer de 2 à 7 mètres. Au fond des longues et étroites baies entaillant la péninsule de Burin, la quantité de mouvement du tsunami a pu porter le niveau jusqu'à 13 mètres au-dessus du niveau normal. Cette vague géante causa la mort de 28 personnes, dont 27 furent noyées dans la péninsule de Burin et une jeune fille qui, n'ayant jamais récupérée de ses blessures, périt en 1933. Il s'agit donc du plus grand nombre de pertes de vies documentées au Canada découlant directement d'un séisme, bien que la tradition orale des Premières nations signale qu'un village côtier entier fut complètement détruit par le tsunami engendré par le séisme de magnitude 9 de Cascadia en l'an 1700 au large de la côte de la Colombie-Britannique. Plus de 40 villages locaux du Sud de Terre-Neuve furent touchés et nombre de maisons, de navires, de commerces et d'engins de pêche furent détruits sans compter les pertes de bétail. Plus de 280 000 livres de morue salée disparurent également. La valeur des pertes matérielles fut estimée à plus d'un million de dollars en 1929 (c'est-à-dire près de 20 millions de dollars en 2004).

Carte détaillée des dommages à la péninsule de Burin

Étendue des dommages causés sur la péninsule de Burin (Terre-Neuve) par le tsunami de 1929 (modifiée d'après Whelan, 1994). Les villages dont les noms figurent en caractères gras sont ceux où il y eut des pertes de vies

Photographies

La plupart des photographies sont reproduites avec la permission des Archives provinciales du gouvernement de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador (Provincial Archives, Government of Newfoundland and Labrador (PANL)). Cliquer sur les vignettes pour voir les images agrandies.

La maison de Steven Henry Isaacs

Image A 2-149 PANL

La maison de Steven Henry Isaacs de Port au Bras, qui fut remorquée jusqu'au rivage après avoir été entraînée en mer par le tsunami et fut amarrée à la goélette de pêche Marian Belle Wolfe

Maison détruite

Image A 2-146 PANL

Vestiges d'une maison détruite à Port au Bras.

Nettoyage le long du rivage

Image image A 2-147 PANL

Nettoyage le long du rivage. Noter les mâts d'un voilier submergé dans la baie, qui est peut-être le havre de Port au Bras. Un tel navire fut renfloué et reprit la mer la saison de pêche suivante.

Restes de maisons

Image image A 1-141 PANL

Restes d'edifices de commerciaux

Image image A 1-45 PANL

Engins de pêche détruits

Image image A 2-150 PANL

Restes de maisons, de commerces, de quais et d'engins de pêche détruits sur le littoral.

Bâtiments de Lord's Cove ballotés et fracassés

Bâtiments de Lord's Cove ballotés et fracassés par le tsunami. Photo de H.M. Mosdell, de la collection de W.M. Chisholm.

L'havre de Burin avant le tsunami

Image B 6-109 PANL

Burin harbour avant le tsunami, circa 1920

Approvisionnements de secours

Approvisionnements de secours pour Burin préparés face aux 241/243 rue Duckworth à St. John's pendant l'hiver de 1929/1930. Photo de la Collection 137, no 739 au centre des Newfoundland Studies Archives, Université Memorial de Terre-Neuve

Pendant la nuit du tsunami, un coup de vent accompagné d'une baisse de la température vinrent ajouter du grésil et de la neige aux épreuves des survivants.

La vague qui fracassa et détruit plusieurs bâtiments eut en outre comme effet d'en soulever d'autres de leur fondation pour les entraîner au loin. Un magasin mesurant 9 mètres sur 17 fut déplacé de 60 mètres vers l'intérieur des terres et déposé dans un pré avec tout son contenu resté intact.

Les gens montèrent à bord des embarcations encore disponibles à la recherche de survivants accrochés aux débris ou piégés dans les maisons flottant à la dérive. Une lampe à pétrole éclairant une pièce à l'étage d'une maison emportée par les flots guida les secouristes jusqu'à un bébé endormi dont la famille avait été noyée au rez-de-chaussée. Un homme emporté en mer nagea jusqu'à une autre maison emportée pour constater qu'il s'agissait de la sienne. Cette maison fut plus tard remorquée jusqu'au rivage et replacée sur sa fondation.

La vague n'eut pas qu'un effet dévastateur dans les terres, elle ravagea en outre le fond marin et plus d'un considéra cet événement comme le principal facteur auquel attribuer la diminution des prises de poissons pendant une bonne partie de la grande dépression.

La capitale provinciale, St. John's, et le reste du monde ne furent pas immédiatement avertis de la dévastation causée par le tsunami. Malheureusement, et par une fâcheuse coïncidence, l'unique ligne télégraphique reliant la péninsule de Burin au reste du monde était tombée en panne tout juste avant le séisme. Lorsque la nouvelle se répandit, l'aide arriva promptement. Le S. S. Meigle fut envoyé depuis St. John's avec à son bord des membres d'un comité de secours du gouvernement, des médecins et des infirmières et arriva à Burin dans l'après-midi du 22 novembre. Bien avant d'arriver à la côte, le navire rencontra des débris témoignant silencieusement de la catastrophe qui s'était abattue sur la région. Une aide au rétablissement fut également fournie par la Croix-Rouge et les gouvernements anglais et américain.

Bref extrait du témoignage de l'événement par l'honorable docteur Mosdell à bord du Meigle qui parut dans le Daily News de St. John's en date du 27 novembre 1929 (avec la permission de Lost At Sea) - "Des résidences ont été réduites à un état rappelant la description des effets de bombardements intenses pendant la guerre. Les emplacements de jardins et de prés sont maintenant parsemés de nombreux blocs, dont certains de la taille de barils, qui ont été projetés sur le rivage par la force dévastatrice du tsunami. Des embarcations motorisées, des appontements et des quais ont été littéralement soulevés et projetés à l'intérieur des terres à l'état de ruines. Lord's Cove et Lamaline ont été visités par l'équipe de secours hier et on y a trouvé des douzaines de maisons, de magasins et d'appontements projetés en un grand tas de débris dans l'étang au fond des havres. Certains reposaient à l'endroit, mais à demi submergés, d'autres étaient renversés sur le côté et d'autres encore complètement retournés."

Articles et images de journaux

journaux de 1929

Un échantillon de ce que les journaux du pays ont dit sur le séisme et le tsunami de 1929

Recherches récentes

Le tremblement de terre du talus laurentien, même que celui de 1933 de magnitude 7.3 de la Baie de Baffin, indique que des grands tremblements de terre le long de la marge continentale ne sont pas très rares. Le nouveau code de bâtiment national du Canada de l'année 2005 prend compte du niveau attendu d'ébranlement d'un tremblement de terre semblable n'importe où le long de cette marge. Bien que le tremblement de terre des Grands Bancs aie eu lieu il y a seulement 75 ans, le sentiment général dans le milieu scientifique est que des tremblements de terre semblables qui pourraient engendrer des tsunamis sont très rares.


Liens sur le séisme et le tsunami des "Grands Bancs" de 1929

Références générales sur les dommages causés par les séismes au Canada oriental.