The 1933 Baffin Bay earthquake

Location and Magnitude

  • Local Date and Time: November 20, 1933 at 6:21:32 pm Eastern time
  • UT Date and Time: 1933-11-20 23:21:32 UT
  • Magnitude: MW 7.3-7.4; MS 7.3; mB 7.2
  • Latitude: 73.0° N
  • Longitude: 70.75° W
  • Depth: 10 km

This earthquake is the largest instrumentally recorded earthquake to have occurred along the passive margin of North America and coincidentally is also the largest known earthquake north of the Arctic Circle. In spite of its size, the 1933 earthquake did not result in any damage because of its offshore location and the sparse population of the adjacent onshore regions.

The only known location that felt the earthquake was in the Upernavik, Greenland region (see map below) while it was definitely not felt in Thule to the north or in Diskofjord to the south. One would have expected the earthquake to have shaken the closer northeastern coastal communities of Baffin Island but no felt reports were ever collected from northern Canada.

The northwestern Baffin Bay -northeastern Baffin Island region continues to be active, one of the most active regions in eastern Canada. 5 magnitude 6 earthquakes have occurred here since the 1933 earthquake. The latest moderate-sized earthquake was a magnitude 5.1 event on April 15, 2010.

Baffin Bay seismicity

Reference

  • Allison L. Bent, 2002. The 1933 Ms = 7.3 Baffin Bay earthquake: strike-slip faulting along the northeastern Canadian passive margin. Geophysical Journal International, v 150, p 724-736. pdf document, 600Kb

Le séisme de la Baie de Baffin survenu en 1933

Emplacement et la magnitude

  • Date et heure locale: Le 20 novembre 1933 à 18h 21m 32s heure de l'Est
  • Date et heure TU: 1933-11-20 23h21m32s TU
  • Magnitude: MW 7,3-7,4; MS 7,3; mB 7,2
  • Latitude: 73,0° N
  • Longitude: 70,75° O
  • Profondeur: 10 km

Ce séisme est le plus grand tremblement de terre enregistré instrumentalement le long de la marge passive d'Amérique du Nord, et est aussi par coïncidence le plus grand séisme connu au Nord du Cercle Arctique. Malgré sa taille, le tremblement de terre de 1933 n'a pas provoqué de dégâts à cause de sa localisation en mer et d'une population clairsemée dans les régions terrestres limitrophes.

La seule localistion d'un séisme ressenti était dans le Upernavik, région du Groenland (voir la carte ci-dessous) alors qu'il n'était pas ressenti à Thule vers le Nord ou à Diskofjord vers le Sud. On se serait attendu à ce que le séisme secoue les communautés côtières les plus proches du nord-est de l'île de Baffin mais aucun rapport de secousse n'a jamais été rassemblé dans le Canada nordique.

La partie Nord-Ouest de la Baie de Baffin - compartiment Nord-Est de la région de l'île de Baffin continue d'être active, et est une des régions les plus actives dans l'Est du Canada. 5 séismes de magnitude 6 ont eu lieu dans cette région depuis le tremblement de terre de 1933. Le dernier séisme de taille modérée était un événement de magnitude 5,1 le 15 avril 2010.

Sismicité Baffin Bay

Bibliographie

  • Allison L. Bent, 2002. The 1933 Ms = 7.3 Baffin Bay earthquake: strike-slip faulting along the northeastern Canadian passive margin. Geophysical Journal International, v 150, p 724-736. document pdf, 600Ko