Double-Earthquake of Miramichi, New Brunswick, in 1982

EMR's seismologists pinpoint the epicentre of a double quake in New Brunswick's Miramichi, and surround it with portable seismographs to record the aftershocks.

Reprint of a paper that was published in GEOS, Vol. 11, No. 2, Spring 1982.


Isoseismal map of affected area

At 0853 Atlantic Standard Time Saturday January 9, 1 982, the Miramichi region of north-central New Brunswick was shaken by the largest earthquake to have affected the Maritimes since 1929. The earthquake, with magnitude 5.7, was centred in an un-populated region of the Miramichi watershed north of highway 108, about midway between Newcastle and Plaster Rock. New Brunswick residents had not yet recovered from their surprise when, 31/2 hours later, a second shock rattled through the region: a magnitude 5.1 aftershock.

Was this the end of the shaking? Radio reports quoted knowledgeable seismologists: the aftershock was not unexpected for an earthquake of this magnitude, but the sequence will now likely die down and most further aftershocks will be detectable only by sensitive seismographs. A field party from EMR's Earth Physics Branch, Ottawa, flew to New Brunswick later Saturday afternoon to install portable seismographs as close as possible to the snow-covered and frigid (-25C) epicentral region. By Sunday afternoon, January 10, three stations were in operation along highway 108.

Seismological Data Laboratory staff in Ottawa continued to monitor the after-shocks, using permanent digital seismograph stations connected by telephone circuits on-line to Ottawa (Fig.1). By Sunday morning 80 aftershocks had been detected by the very sensitive Edmundston station, confirming that a significant after-shock sequence was in progress.

Figure 1

By Monday morning the first field station records were available. They showed many earthquakes occurring every hour in a remote area near the Little Southwest Miramichi River north of the highway. But the active zone was inaccessible, all summer roads blocked by deep snow. Only a major effort would gain access to it.

Early Monday evening another event, only slightly smaller than Saturday morning's quake, occurred. The "knowledgeable seismologists" now allowed that a double quake had occurred in the Miramichi. Less confident about what would happen next, they recognized an unprecedented opportunity to gather valuable data. No effort should be spared.

EMR's Atlantic Geoscience Centre, the Geological Survey, three eastern U.S. universities and two U.S. geophysical companies helped with seismograph equipment and field personnel. (American seismologists also recognized a rare opportunity to study an earthquake sequence of the type that could be expected throughout New England. They did not know that a somewhat smaller (magnitude 4.5), but still significant, earthquake would occur in southern New Hampshire the following week.) New Brunswick government snowplows opened roads into the epicentral area and kept them open. Within a week portable seismographs circled the active zone, monitoring it from all sides and directly on top Fig.1.

Earthquake activity gradually decreased but still averaged four shocks an hour 10 days after the initial shock of January 9. Most were very small and could be detected only by the closest seismographs (Fig.2). But the field team servicing instruments a few km from the epicentre felt sharp jolts and heard thunder-like rumbles nearly every day.

Figure 2

By January 22 enough data had been collected to keep researchers occupied for many months. Portable seismographs were removed but a new digital telemetered seismograph at McKendrick Lake provided continuous on-line monitoring in Ottawa. During the first week in February, seven strong-motion seismographs, called accelerographs, were installed to record data for any subsequent larger shocks.

On March 31 and April 1, nearly three months after the initial earthquake, and after this article had been written, the strong-motion instruments were triggered by two aftershocks of magnitude 4.8 and 4.5.

EMR seismologists regularly monitor Canadian earthquakes with a national network that includes on-line telemetered stations recording at Ottawa and Sidney, B.C. Twenty to 30 times each year earthquakes are felt in Canada over a small region.Occasionally one causes damage. Portable seismographs are kept ready to deploy in an epicentral region to obtain valuable scientific data from records of aftershocks.

Significant earthquakes have occurred in eastern Canada, and the largest known have been felt in New Brunswick. In 1925 and 1929, magnitude 7 earthquakes occurred in the St. Lawrence Charlevoix zone and on the Grand Banks south of Newfoundland. Newspaper and other written accounts also tell us about earthquakes before seismograph stations were installed. For instance, in October 1869 and March1904, earthquakes of estimated magnitude 5 caused isolated minor damage in southern New Brunswick and eastern Maine. Similar events may have occurred in the Miramichi in February 1855 and July 1922, but because of sparse reports their actual locations and magnitudes are uncertain.We believe that the January 1982 earthquakes are the largest in historic time in the province. They are certainly the largest captured by modern seismographs.

The Canadian seismograph network (see Fig. 1 for the eastern portion) can now locate all earthquakes down to magnitude near 2 in the New Brunswick region. Figure 2 shows a significant concentration of earthquakes in the St. Lawrence Valley southwest of Saguenay River, and a more scattered concentration in the lower St. Lawrence centred over the north shore between Baie-Comeau and Sept-Îles. A zone of infrequent activity including most of the Gaspé peninsula separates these concentrations from New Brunswick. Within New Brunswick no significant concentrations of lower magnitude earthquakes are seen; instead the seismicity occurs in a broad scattered pattern throughout the province and extends into Maine.

Figure 3.

Miramichi earthquakes January 9-31 detected by the permanent telemetry station at Edmundston, N.B. Inset, field recording shows 237 aftershocks in a 25-hour period, January 13-14.

The January 9 and 11 earthquakes were perceptible at ground level over all of New Brunswick and P.E.I. and parts of Nova Scotia, eastern Quebec and New England, up to 350 km away. They were felt as faraway as 700 km from the epicentre, in Ottawa and New York City, by a few occupants of high-rise buildings (which respond to the low frequency motion that propagates to great distances).

Fortunately, because the immediate epicentral area is unpopulated, damage was very slight: a few hairline cracks but no structural damage in buildings up to 100 km away.

There was no indication of any movement whatsoever in the unoccupied cabins in the epicentral area itself. We have observed elsewhere that directly over an earthquake or adjacent to a fault break there will be a strong short duration shock that produces little damage, while at some distance the seismic waves become dispersed and produce longer sustained shaking.

The data recorded for the aftershock sequences is the most comprehensive available for an earthquake sequence in eastern North America. Figure 3 shows that rates of aftershocks during the month of January; the long tail of the distribution has continued at a similar rate through February and March. Two separate, but partially overlapping, aftershock sequences follow the main shocks of January 9 and 11. An analysis of the time-magnitude distribution of these sequences can reveal information on the state of stress in the active region, its change with time, and how it returns to pre-earthquake ambient levels. Further, the second shock may have been influenced by a change in crustal stresses caused by the first shock; this may be revealed by analysing the temporal characteristics of the sequences.

Preliminary analysis of data from the four nearest seismographs operated during the field program shows the aftershocks concentrated in an area approximately 4 km north-south by 6 km east-west centred near 46o59'N, 66o37'W. They are distributed from near surface to depths of about 6 km. In larger earthquakes aftershocks are usually distributed over the plane of fault rupture that occurred during the main shock. With a detailed analysis of the aftershock data we hope to establish the three-dimensional configuration of this plane, or perhaps planes of different orientation for the two principal earthquakes.

Data from near, regional and global seismographs also can reveal the orientation of the fault break(s) as well as the direction in which the fault moved, the direction of principal crustal stresses that caused the earthquakes, and other information related to the total energy released.

Geologists visited the epicentral area the first week of the field program but, perhaps because of the snow cover, found no ground disturbances. Current geological and geophysical maps show no faults in the granite body in which the earthquakes occurred. New low level aerial photography by EMR's Canada Centre for Remote Sensing has revealed linear features that may indicate structures in the basement rocks.

Field seismic data may locate the shallow aftershocks to accuracies of the order of 100 m, pinpointing fairly precise targets for a more detailed search in the spring for surface geological evidence of the earthquakes. And logging operations may have exposed more basement outcrops since the original geological maps were prepared.

The size of the main shocks, the extent of the aftershock zone, and the fact that some aftershocks are very near the surface, all suggest that the principal earthquakes may have caused a surface fault break. If found, this will be valuable evidence to check the seismological estimates of fault orientation. It would also be the first documented evidence relating a specific earthquake to an associated surface rupture in eastern Canada.

Note; In 1989, the Ungava earthquake produce the first surface rupture of eastern Canada

Finally, what are the implications of these quakes for estimating earthquake risk in New Brunswick? Most of the province is in Zone 2, a zone of moderate risk on the 1970 seismic zoning map used in the National Building Code to set provisions for the earthquake-resistant design of buildings. The seismicity of New Brunswick (Figure 2),and therefore the calculated risk, is uniform throughout the province. It may be that the Miramichi earthquakes are just another example of a random occurrence of relatively rare moderately-sized earthquakes. However, it is important to search for any information to improve our understanding of why earthquakes occur where they do, and thereby improve our assessment of risk from similar events in future.

The authors

The Authors are research seismologists at EMR's Earth Physics Branch in Ottawa concerned with Canadian seismicity and earthquake risk analysis. Bob Wetmiller coordinated and led the field program for the Miramichi earthquakes. All are now engaged in analysis of the data recorded. l. to r. F.M. Anglin, Peter Basham, Bob Wetmiller and Anne Stevens, in EMR's Ottawa Seismological Laboratory

References

  • By P.W. Basham, A.E. Stevens, F.M. Anglin and R.J. Wetmiller

Série de séismes de Miramichi (N.-B.) en 1982

Les sismologues d'EMR localisent l'épicentre d'un séisme double dans la région de Miramichi au Nouveau-Brunswick, et l'entourent de sismographes portatifs pour enregistrer les répliques sismiques.

Reproduction d'un article publié dans GEOS, Vol. 11, No. 2, Printemps 1982.


Carte des isoséistes

À 08:53 heure normale de l'Atlantique, le samedi 9 janvier 1982, la région de la Miramichi au centre-nord du Nouveau-Brunswick a été secouée par le plus grand tremblement de terre à avoir affecté les Maritimes depuis 1929. Le séisme, avec une magnitude de 5,7, était centré dans une région peu peuplée du bassin hydrographique de la Miramichi au nord de l'autoroute 108, à mi-chemin entre Newcastle et Plaster Rock. Les résidants du Nouveau-Brunswick n'avaient pas encore récupéré de leur surprise quand, 3 heures et demie plus tard, un deuxième choc a secoué la région: une réplique de magnitude 5,1.

Était-ce la fin des secousses? Les reportages radiodiffusés ont cité des sismologues bien informés: la réplique n'était pas inattendue pour un tremblement de terre de cette magnitude, mais la séquence mourra peu à peu et la plupart des autres répliques sismiques seront seulement perceptibles par des sismographes sensibles. Une équipe de terrain de la Direction de la Physique du Globe d'EMR, à Ottawa, s'est envolée au Nouveau-Brunswick samedi après-midi pour installer des sismographes portatifs aussi près que possible de la région épicentrale couverte de neige et glaciale (-25oC). Le dimanche après-midi, 10 janvier, trois stations fonctionnaient le long de l'autoroute 108.

Le personnel sismologique du laboratoire de données à Ottawa a continué à surveiller les répliques sismiques, en utilisant les stations sismologiques numériques permanentes reliées par des circuits téléphoniques à Ottawa (Figure 1). Le dimanche matin, 80 répliques sismiques avaient été détectées par la station très sensible d'Edmundston, confirmant qu'une séquence significative de répliques était en cours.

Figure 1

Le lundi matin, les premiers enregistrements des stations dans la zone étaient disponibles. Ils montraient beaucoup de tremblements de terre se produisant chaque heure dans une région éloignée près de la rivière Petit Miramichi Sud-ouest au nord de l'autoroute. Mais la zone active était inaccessible, toutes les routes d'été étant bloquées par la neige épaisse. Seul un effort important permettrait d'accéder à la zone.

Lundi soir, un autre événement se produisit, légèrement plus petit que celle de samedi matin. Les "sismologues bien informés " ont maintenant admis qu'un tremblement double s'était produit dans la Miramichi. Moins confiant au sujet de ce qui se produirait ensuite, ils ont identifié une occasion sans précédent de recueillir des données valables. Aucun effort ne devrait être épargné.

Le Centre Géoscience de l'Atlantique d'EMR, la Commission Géologique, trois universités de l'est des États-Unis et deux compagnies géophysiques des États-Unis ont déplacé leur personnel de terrain et installé leurs sismographes. (Les sismologues américains ont également identifié une occasion unique d'étudier un tremblement de terre du type qui pourrait être prévu dans l'ensemble de la Nouvelle Angleterre. Ils n'ont pas prévu qu'un plus petit séisme (magnitude 4,5), mais encore significatif, se produirait au New Hampshire méridional la semaine suivante.) Des chasse-neiges de gouvernement du Nouveau-Brunswick ont ouvert les routes dans la zone épicentrale et les ont maintenus dégagéees. Après une semaine, des sismographes portatifs entourait la zone active, la surveillant de tous les côtés et directement au-dessus (Figure 1).

L'activité des séismes a graduellement diminué mais avait une moyenne de quatre chocs par heure pendant 10 jours après le choc initial du 9 janvier. La plupart étaient très petits et ne pouvaient être détectées seulement que par les sismographes les plus près (Figure 2). L'équipe d'entretien des instruments a ressenti des secousses et entendu des grondements, presque chaque jour à quelques kilomètres de l'épicentre.

Figure 2

Le 22 janvier, assez de données avaient été rassemblées pour tenir des chercheurs occupés pendant plusieurs mois. Des sismographes portatifs ont été retirés mais un nouveau sismographe télémétré numérique installé au lac McKendrick a permis une surveillance continue à Ottawa. Pendant la première semaine de février, sept sismographes de mouvements forts, appelés accélérographes, ont été installés pour enregistrer des données des plus grands chocs à venir.

Les 31 mars et 1er avril, presque trois mois après le séisme initial, et après que cet article ait été écrit, les accélérographes ont été déclenchés par deux répliques sismiques de magnitude 4,8 et 4,5.

Les sismologues d'EMR surveillent continuellement les séismes canadiens avec un réseau national qui inclut les stations en ligne télémétrées enregistrant à Ottawa et Sidney, C.-B. Au Canada, vingt à 30 fois par année des tremblements de terre sont ressentis. Occasionnellement, un cause des dommages. Des sismographes portatifs sont prêts à être déployés dans une région épicentrale pour obtenir des enregistrements des répliques sismiques.

Des séismes significatifs se sont produits dans l'Est de Canada, et les plus grands connus ont été ressentis au Nouveau-Brunswick. En 1925 et 1929, les tremblements de terre de magnitude 7 se sont produits le long du Saint-Laurent dans Charlevoix et sur les Grands Bancs au sud de Terre-Neuve. Les journaux et d'autres comptes-rendus écrits nous indiquent également des séismes avant que des stations sismographiques aient été installées. Par exemple, en octobre 1869 et mars 1904, des tremblements de terre de magnitude estimée à 5 ont causé des dommages mineurs isolés au Nouveau-Brunswick méridional et dans le Maine oriental. Des événements semblables peuvent s'être produits dans la Miramichi en février 1855 et en juillet 1922, mais en raison des comptes-rendus peu nombreux, leurs emplacements et magnitudes réels sont incertains. On croit que les séismes de janvier 1982 sont les plus grands historiquement dans la province. Ils sont certainement les plus grands enregistrés par des sismographes modernes.

Le réseau sismologique canadien (voir la fig 1. pour la partie est) peut maintenant localiser tous les séismes de magnitude 2 ou plus au Nouveau-Brunswick. La Figure 2 montre une concentration significative de tremblements de terre dans le sud-ouest de la vallée du Saint-Laurent, du Saguenay, et une concentration plus diffuse dans le Bas-Saint-Laurent entre Baie-Comeau et Sept-Îles. Une activité peu fréquente dans la majeure partie de la Gaspésie sépare ces concentrations du Nouveau-Brunswick. Au Nouveau-Brunswick, aucune concentration significative des séismes de faible magnitude n'est constatée, la sismicité se produit dans une large zone dispersée dans toute la province et au Maine.

Figure 3

Les sÉismes qui se sont produits dans la région de Miramichi entre le 9 et le 31 janvier ont été détectés par la station télémétrique permanente d'Edmunston, au Nouveau-Brunswick. En médaillon, les enregistrements effectués sur le terrain indiquent qu'il y a eu 237 répliques au cours d'une période de 25 heures, les 13 et 14 janvier.

Les séismes des 9 et le 11 janvier étaient perceptibles au niveau du sol jusqu'à 350 kilomètres de distance au Nouveau-Brunswick et à l'Î-.P.-E. et dans des régions de la Nouvelle-Écosse, du Québec oriental et de la Nouvelle Angleterre. Ils ont été ressentis aussi loin que 700 kilomètres de l'épicentre, à Ottawa et à New York, par quelques occupants de gratte-ciel (qui répondent aux mouvements de basse fréquence qui se propagent à de grandes distances).

Heureusement, parce que la zone épicentrale immédiate n'est pas peuplée, les dommages était très légers: quelques fissures mineures mais aucun dommage structural dans les bâtiments jusqu'à 100 kilomètres de distance.

Il n'y avait aucune indication de mouvement dans les chalets inoccupées de la zone épicentrale même. Ailleurs,i l a été observé que directement au-dessus d'un tremblement de terre ou à côté d'une rupture de faille, il y aura un fort choc de courte durée qui produit peu de dommages, alors qu'à une certaine distance les ondes sismiques deviennent dispersées et produisent des secousses de plus longue durée.

Les données enregistrées pour la séquence de répliques constituent l'ensemble le plus complet pour un séquence de séisme de l'Est de l'Amérique du Nord. La Figure 3 montre le rythme des répliques sismiques pendant le mois de janvier; la longue queue de la distribution a continué à une cadence semblable en février et en mars. Deux séquences de répliques séparées, partiellement superposés, suivent les chocs principaux des 9 et 11 janvier. Une analyse de la distribution temps-magnitude de ces séquences peut donner de l'information sur l'état des contraintes dans la région active, son changement avec le temps, et comment elle revient aux niveaux ambiants pré-tremblement de terre. De plus, le deuxième choc a pu avoir été influencé par un changement des contraintes dans la croûte provoqué par le premier choc; ceci peut être indiqué en analysant les caractéristiques temporelles des séquences.

L'analyse préliminaire des données des quatre sismographes les plus rapprochés pendant le levé de terrain indique que les répliques sismiques sont concentrés dans une zone d'approximativement 4 kilomètres (nord-sud) par 6 kilomètres (est-ouest) centré près de 46o59'N, 66o37'W. Ils sont distribués de la surface à une profondeur d'environ 6 kilomètres. Lors de plus grands séismes, la réplique sismique est habituellement répartie sur le plan de la rupture de faille causée par le choc principal. Avec une analyse détaillée des données de répliques, nous espérons établir la configuration tridimensionnelle de cette surface, ou peut-être des plans d'orientation différente pour les deux tremblements de terre principaux.

Les données sismographiques de terrain, régionales et mondiales peuvent également indiquer l'orientation de la rupture de faille aussi bien que la direction suivant laquelle la faille s'est déplacée, la direction des contraintes principales qui ont causé les séismes, et d'autres renseignements liées à l'énergie libérée.

Les géologues ont visité la zone épicentrale la première semaine du programme de terrain mais, peut-être en raison de la couverture de neige, n'ont trouvé aucune perturbation du sol. Les cartes géologiques et géophysiques ne montrent aucune faille dans le massif granitique dans lequel les séismes se sont produits. La nouvelle photographie aérienne de basse altitude par le centre d'EMR Canada pour la télédétection a indiqué les linéaments qui peuvent indiquer des structures du socle rocheux.

Les données sismiques de terrain peuvent localiser les répliques peu profondes à 100 m près suggérant des cibles pour une recherche plus détaillée d'évidences géologiques de surface des tremblements de terre. Et les travaux forestiers ont pu exposer plus d'affleurements rocheux depuis que les cartes géologiques initiales ont été dressées.

La grandeur des chocs principaux, l'ampleur de la zone de répliques, et le fait que les répliques sismiques sont très près de la surface, suggèrent que les séismes principaux ont pu causer une rupture de faille en surface. Si trouvée, ce sera un contrôle des estimations sismologiques de l'orientation de la faille. Ce serait également la première évidence documentée associant un séisme spécifique à une rupture au Canada oriental.

Note: en 1989, le séisme de l'Ungava a produit la première évidence de rupture en surface.

En conclusion, quelles sont les implications de ces tremblements pour estimer le risque des séismes au Nouveau-Brunswick? La majorité de la province est dans la zone 2, une zone de risque modéré sur les cartes sismiques dans le code national du bâtiment de 1970 pour les dispositions de conceptions parasismiques. La sismicité du Nouveau-Brunswick (fig. 2), et par conséquent le risque calculé, est uniforme dans toute la province. Il se pourrait que les Séismes de la Miramichi ne soient qu'un autre exemple d'une occurrence aléatoire de tremblement de terre modéré et relativement rare. Cependant, il est important de rechercher toute information pour améliorer notre compréhension du pourquoi des séismes et d'améliorer notre évaluation du risque pour événements semblables dans l'avenir.

Les authors

Les authors sont des sismologues de recherche à la Direction de la Physique du Globe d'EMR à Ottawa et s'occupent de l'analyse du risque sismique et des tremblement de terre. Bob Wetmiller a coordonné et a mené le programme de terrain pour les Séismes de la Miramichi. Tous s'activent à l'analyse des données enregistrées. g. à d. F.M. Anglin, Peter Basham, Bob Wetmiller et Anne Stevens, dans le laboratoire sismologique d'EMR à Ottawa

References

  • par P.W. Basham, A.E. Stevens, F.M. Anglin et R.J. Wetmiller