Earthquake Magnitude Scales

The severity of an earthquake is generally proportional to the amount of seismic energy it releases. Seismologists use a Magnitude scale to express this energy release. Here are the typical effects of earthquakes in various magnitude ranges.

Magnitude Effects
Less than 3.5  Recorded on local seismographs, but generally not felt.
3.5 - 5.4 Often felt, but rarely cause damage.
Under 6.0 At most slight damage to well-designed buildings. Can cause major damage to poorly constructed buildings over small regions.
6.1 - 6.9 Can cause damage to poorly constructed buildings and other structures in areas up to about 100 kilometers across where people live.
7.0 - 7.9 "Major" earthquake. Can cause serious damage over larger areas.
8.0 - 8.9 "Great" earthquake. Can cause serious damage and loss of life in areas several hundred kilometers across.
9 Rare great earthquake. Can cause major damage over a large region over 1000 km across.

While each earthquake releases a unique amount of energy, the magnitude values reported by different seismological observatories for an event may vary. Depending on the size, nature, and location of an earthquake, seismologists may use several different methods and even different magnitude scales to estimate magnitude. The uncertainty in an estimate of the magnitude is about plus or minus 0.3 units, and seismologists often revise magnitude estimates as they obtain and analyze additional data. It may be several days before different organizations come to a consensus on what is the best overall magnitude estimate.

Although each earthquake has a unique Magnitude, its effects will vary greatly according to distance, ground conditions, construction standards, and other factors. Seismologists use a different Intensity Scale to express the variable effects of an earthquake.

Échelles séisme de magnitude

La gravité d'un séisme est généralement proportionnelle à la quantité d'énergie sismique dégagée. Les sismologues utilisent une échelle de magnitude pour mesurer l'énergie libérée. Voici les effets typiques des séismes selon la gammes d'intervalles de magnitude.

Magnitude Effets
Moins de 3,5 Enregistré par les sismographes locaux, mais généralement pas ressenti.
3,5 - 5,4 Souvent ressenti, mais cause rarement des dommages.
Sous 6,0 Peut causer tout au plus de légers dommages aux édifices bien construits. Peut également causer des dommages majeurs aux édifices de piètre condition sur de petites étendues.
6,1 - 6,9 Peut causer des dommages aux édifices de piètre condition et aux structures dans les secteurs allant jusqu'à environ 100 kilomètres des régions habitées.
7,0 - 7,9 Séisme « majeur ». Peut causer de sérieux dommages sur de plus vastes étendues.
8,0 - 8,9 Séisme « énorme ». Peut causer des dommages sérieux et la perte de vie dans les régions allant jusqu'à plusieurs centaines de kilomètres.
9 Séisme énorme et rare. Peut causer des dommages sérieux sur une grande région allant jusqu'à 1000 km.

Bien que chaque séisme libère une quantité d'énergie unique, les valeurs de magnitude signalées par les différents observatoires sismologiques peuvent varier à chaque secousse. En vertu de la grandeur, de la nature, de l'emplacement d'un séisme, les sismologues peuvent utiliser diverses méthodes voir différentes échelles de magnitude pour estimer la magnitude. L'incertitude dans l'estimation de la magnitude est approximativement plus ou moins 0,3 unités, et les sismologues révisent souvent les estimations de magnitude au fur à mesure qu'ils obtiennent et analysent les données supplémentaires. Cela peut prendre plusieurs jours avant que différents organismes arrivent à un consensus sur la meilleure estimation d'ensemble.

Bien que chaque séisme ait une magnitude unique, ses effets varieront grandement selon la distance, les conditions du sol, les standards de construction et d'autres facteurs. Les sismologues utilisent une Échelle d'intensité différente pour évaluer les effets variables d'un séisme.