What is a seismologist?

Principal functions

Seismologists are Earth scientists, specialized in geophysics, who study the genesis and the propagation of seismic waves in geological materials. These geological materials can range from a laboratory sample to the Earth as a whole, from its surface to its core.

Their research aims at interpreting the geological composition and structures of the Earth. In the case of earthquakes, seismologists evaluate the potential dangers and seek to minimize their impact through the improvement of construction standards.

The vast majority of seismologists work in petroleum exploration, where the seismic waves come from controlled sources explosions, vibrations caused by trucks).

The generated seismic waves make it possible to locate the geological structures at depth. At the Geological Survey of Canada, the Seismology and Electromagnetism Section carries out such research.

Other seismologists study the seismic waves generated by much more powerful sources: natural, like earthquakes and mining events, or artificial, like underground nuclear tests. The fundamental work of a seismologist is to locate the source, the nature, and the size (magnitude) of these seismic events. In Canada, this work is mainly carried out by the seismologists of Earthquakes Canada.

Within the study of earthquakes, several specialities exist. Certain seismologists study the relation between faults, stress and seismicity (i.e. seismo-tectonics), others interpret the mechanisms of rupture from seismic wave data (focal mechanisms), others integrate geoscientific information in order to define zones of seismicity (seismic zoning), and finally others, collaborate with engineers in an attempt to minimize the damage caused to structures (earthquake engineering).

Seismologists work in multidisciplinaryms composed of Earth scientists, technicians and professionals from the fields of computers, physics, electronics, telecommunications and civil engineering. Contacts with emergency organizations are often necessary.

Tools of the seismologist

There is no seismology without seismographs! Seismographs are the key tool of seismologists since they make it possible to collect and to record the vibrations of the Earth. Traditionally, seismographs recorded on paper (analogue recorders). This type of apparatus is becoming much less popular. Nowadays, digital instruments are preferred since they allow better definition of ground vibrations and make readings much more precise.

During field surveys, sometimes made following large seismic events, portable seismographs are deployed in order to increase the number of seismographs in the area of study. If the survey is carried out in remote locations, seismologists may use trucks, planes, or helicopters. The seismologists might even have to sleep under tents!

At all times, the seismologists use computers. These make it possible to record and visualize the movements of the Earth. Specialized software, sometimes developed by the seismologists themselves, makes it possible to interpret the seismological data.

Interests

As with any Earth scientist, curiosity and a thirst for knowledge are essential to the seismologist. Moreover, a meticulous nature, an interest in computer science, and in certain cases, in outdoor activities, are necessary. Though often called upon to work alone, the seismologist must also be able to work within teams to solve problems. Well developed written and oral communication skills are important in order to communicate the results of their research.

Studies

Depending on their field of interest, seismologists can come from following the fields: geology, geophysics, physics or applied mathematics. A university undergraduate degree is necessary, and Masters studies or Doctoral work are significant assets for more advanced research.

Though several Canadian universities offer degrees in Earth sciences (geology, geological engineering, geophysics), none offer programs dealing with the seismology of earthquakes. Specialization can be done at the Graduate level (Masters, Doctorate) after a first degree in the disciplines mentioned above.

Prospects for employment

In Canada, seismologists interested in the study of earthquakes number only a few dozen. The prospects for employment are thus relatively restricted. However, the possibility of recruitment increases according to the level of gen_infoation of the candidates. In Canada, one finds the majority of seismologists at the Geological Survey of Canada, as well as at universities and with several engineering firms.

Other questions?

For information on the trades and professions of the Earth sciences, visit The Canadian Geoscience Council.

Qu'est-ce qu'un sismologue?

Fonctions principales

Les sismologues sont des scientifiques de la Terre, spécialisés en géophysique, qui étudient la genèse et la propagation des ondes sismiques dans les matériaux géologiques. Ces matériaux géologiques peuvent aller de l'échantillon de laboratoire jusqu'à la Terre entière, depuis la surface jusqu'à son centre. Leurs recherches visent à interpréter la composition et les structures géologiques de la Terre. Dans le cas des tremblements de terre, les sismologues évaluent le danger potentiel et cherchent à minimiser leur impact par l'amélioration des normes de construction.

La grande majorité des sismologues travaillent dans l'exploration pétrolière où les ondes sismiques proviennent de sources contrôlées (explosions, camions vibrants). Les ondes sismiques générées permettent de localiser les structures géologiques en profondeur. À la Commission géologique du Canada, la Section de sismologie et de l'électromagnétisme effectue de telles recherches.

D'autres sismologues étudient les ondes sismiques engendrées par des sources beaucoup plus puissantes: naturelles, comme les tremblements de terre et les événements miniers, ou artificielles, comme les essais nucléaires souterrains.

Le travail fondamental d'un sismologue est de localiser la source, la nature et la grandeur (magnitude) de ces événements sismiques. Au Canada, ce travail est principalement effectué par les sismologues du Programme canadien de sismologie des tremblements de terre.

En ce qui a trait aux tremblements de terre, plusieurs spécialités existent. Certains sismologues étudient les relations entre failles, contraintes et séismes (i.e. la sismo-tectonique), d'autres interprètent le mécanisme de rupture au foyer des séismes à partir des ondes sismiques (mécanisme au foyer), d'autres intègrent des renseignements géoscientifiques pour définir les zones sismique (zonage sismique), et d'autres enfin, collaborent avec les ingénieurs pour minimiser les dommages causés aux constructions (génie parasismique).

Les sismologues travaillent dans des équipes multidisciplinaires formées de scientifiques de la Terre, de techniciens et de professionnels en informatique, en physique, en électronique, en télécommunications et en génie civil. Des contacts avec des organismes de sécurité civile sont souvent requis.

Les outils des sismologues

Pas de sismologie sans sismographe! Le sismographe est l'outil par excellence du sismologue puisqu'il permet de capter et d'enregistrer les vibrations du sol. Traditionnellement, les sismographes enregistraient sur papier (appareils analogiques). Ce type d'appareil est de moins en moins utilisé. De nos jours, des appareils numériques sont préférés puisqu'ils permettent une meilleure définition des vibrations du sol et rendent les lectures beaucoup plus précises.

Lors de levés de terrain, parfois faits à la suite de grands séismes, des sismographes portatifs sont déployés afin d'augmenter le nombre d'appareils dans la région étudiée. Si le levé est effectué dans des régions éloignées, les déplacements pourront se faire en camion, en avion, ou en hélicoptère. Les sismologues peuvent même devoir coucher sous la tente!

En tout temps, les sismologues utilisent des ordinateurs. Ceux-ci permettent d'enregistrer et de visualiser les mouvements du sol.

Des logiciels spécialisés, parfois développés par les sismologues eux-même, permettent d'interpréter les données sismologiques.

Intérêts

Comme pour tout scientifique des sciences de la Terre, la curiosité et la soif de connaître sont essentiels au sismologue. De plus, la minutie, un intérêt pour l'informatique, et dans certains cas, pour les activités de plein air, sont nécessaires. Quoique souvent appelé à travailler seul, le sismologue doit aussi oeuvrer à la résolution de problèmes en équipe. Des capacités de communication écrites et orales sont nécessaires pour communiquer les résultats de ses recherches.

Études

Dépendant de leur domaine d'intérêt, les sismologues peuvent provenir d'un ou des domaines suivants: géologie, géophysique, physique ou mathématiques appliquées. Un baccalauréat universitaire est nécessaire, et des études de maîtrise ou de doctorat sont des atouts importants pour des recherches plus poussées.

Quoique plusieurs universités canadiennes offrent des diplômes de sciences de la Terre (géologie, génie géologique, géophysique), aucune n'offre de programme de sismologie des tremblements de terre. La spécialisation peut se faire au niveau gradué (maîtrise, doctorat) après un baccalauréat dans les disciplines mentionnées ci-haut.

Perspectives d'emploi

Au Canada, les sismologues s'intéressant aux tremblements de terre ne sont que quelques dizaines. Les perspectives d'emploi sont donc relativement restreintes. Cependant, la possibilité de recrutement augmente en fonction du niveau d'étude des candidats. Au Canada, on retrouve la majorité des sismologues à la Commission géologique du Canada, de même que dans les universités et certaines firmes d'ingénierie.

D'autres questions?

Pour les métiers et professions des sciences de la Terre, visiter The Canadian Geoscience Council (anglais).