Seismic Waves

Here is an example of several main types of seismic waves. Our seismograph at Lillooet, B.C. recorded these waves from a magnitude 6.6 earthquake that occurred 600 km to the west on Nov. 2, 2004. Time unfolds from left to right in the diagram, at a rate of 60 seconds per tick mark at the bottom, and the three traces indicate vibration of the earth vertically ("V") and in north-south ("N") and east-west ("E") directions.

First of all, at the left, there is the ordinary motion of the earth: almost a straight line, which would indicate no movement, but one can perhaps see small movements due to wind etc. Then the energy from the earthquake arrives, beginning with the P waves ("Primary"), which vibrate at a higher frequency and in the same direction as the path followed by the energy, and are therefore easier to see in the vertical ("V") and east-west ("E") traces.

The S waves ("Secondary") travel more slowly, so at this distance they arrive about a minute later than the P waves. These waves vibrate in a direction at right angles to the path along which the energy arrives, (from side to side), so because they're arriving from the west, they can be seen most clearly on the north-south trace ("N"). Later, the Rayleigh waves arrive ("R" in the diagram; named after Lord Rayleigh who described them mathematically) which follow the surface of the earth, as opposed to the P and S waves, which travel deep in the earth.

A description of seismic waves can be found at this site: http://www.geo.mtu.edu/UPSeis/waves.html

Seismic waves, vertical, north and east

Des Ondes Séismiques

Voici un exemple de plusieurs ondes séismiques principaux. Nous avons enregistré ces ondes d'un tremblement de terre de magnitude 6,6 qui a eu lieu 600 km à l'ouest du sismographe à Lillooet, C.-B. le 2 novembre 2004. Le temps se déroule de gauche à droit dans le diagramme, à 60 secondes entre les coches en bas, et les trois traces indiquent la vibration de la terre en des directions verticale ("V"), nord-sud ("N"), et est-ouest ("E").

Premièrement, à gauche, on a le mouvement normal de la terre: presque une ligne droite, qui indiquerait nul mouvement, mais on peut peut-être voir des petits mouvements à cause du vent etc. Puis l'énergie du tremblement de terre arrive, en commençant avec les ondes P ("primaires"), dont la vibration est de plus haute fréquence et dans la même direction du chemin de l'énergie, étant par conséquent plus évidentes dans les traces verticales ("V") et est-ouest ("E").

Les ondes S ("secondaires") parcourent moins vite, alors à cette distance elles arrivent environ une minute après les ondes P. Ces ondes vibrent dans une direction perpendiculaire au chemin d'arrivée de l'énergie, (d'un côté à l'autre). Donc, grâce à leur arrivée de l'ouest, elles peuvent être vues plus clairement à la trace nord-sud ("N"). Encore plus tard, les ondes Rayleigh arrivent ("R" dans le diagramme; nommées d'après Lord Rayleigh qui les a décrites en mathématiques), qui suivent la surface de la terre, par opposition des ondes P et S qui parcourent profondément dans la terre.

Une description des ondes séismiques peut être trouvée à cette site en suivant le lien "Les Ondes Sismiques": http://eost.u-strasbg.fr/pedago/Accueil.html

diagramme des ondes séismiques