UTC - Coordinated Universal Time

To avoid possible confusion due to time zones and daylight saving time when reporting the occurance of earthquakes, the times of all earthquakes are recorded in a common standard - Coordinated Universal Time (UTC). This is the modern equivalent of Greenwich Mean Time. To determine the local time that an earthquake occurred, use the following tables to subtract the appropriate number of hours from the UTC time to your time zone.

Time Zones & Daylight Saving Time National Research Council of Canada

Winter (Standard) Time Zones - first Sunday in November to second Sunday in March

Pacific
Standard
Time
Mountain
Standard
Time
Central
Standard
Time
Eastern
Standard
Time
Atlantic
Standard
Time
Newfoundland
Standard
Time
UTC - 8 hours UTC - 7 hours UTC - 6 hours UTC - 5 hours UTC - 4 hours UTC - 3 hours 30min
12:00 UTC
is
04:00 PST
12:00 UTC
is
05:00 MST
12:00 UTC
is
06:00 CST
12:00 UTC
is
07:00 EST
12:00 UTC
is
08:00 AST
12:00 UTC
is
08:30 NST

Summer (Daylight Saving) Time Zones - Starting in March 2007, the standard North American period for Daylight Saving Time is to be from the second Sunday of March to the first Sunday of November.

This standard will replace the previous practice (from 1987 to 2006, DST was from the first Sunday of April to the last Sunday in October).

Pacific
Daylight
Time
Mountain
Daylight
Time
Central
Daylight
Time
Eastern
Daylight
Time
Atlantic
Daylight
Time
Newfoundland
Daylight
Time
UTC - 7 hours UTC - 6 hours UTC - 5 hours UTC - 4 hours UTC - 3 hours UTC - 2 hours 30min
12:00 UTC
is
05:00 PDT
12:00 UTC
is
06:00 MDT
12:00 UTC
is
07:00 CDT
12:00 UTC
is
08:00 EDT
12:00 UTC
is
09:00 ADT
12:00 UTC
is
09:30 NDT