Canadian High Arctic Seismic Monitoring Experiment (CHASME)

Iceberg

The Canadian High Arctic Seismic Monitoring Experiment (CHASME) was designed with two main goals: to improve the sparse network coverage across the High Arctic region in order to gain new information about local and regional seismicity and to study regional variations in the structure of the crust and upper mantle in more detail than had previously been possible. Seven temporary broadband seismograph stations were deployed in communities across the Canadian High Arctic and western Greenland, the latter being shared with the ongoing GLATIS project. The stations were instrumented with Nanometrics ORION digitizers and Guralp CMG-3ESP and CMG-40T seismometers. The digitizers were housed in buildings within the communities, using local mains power, and were maintained by local operators such as RCMP officers, airport workers and local scientists. The stations did not operate in real-time; instead, the waveform data were extracted periodically by swapping out the 2GB removeable hard disks approximately once per month and shipping them to the CNDC in Ottawa for processing and analysis.

Though originally foreseen in the year 2000 to be a temporary deployment lasting a fews years at most, several stations were still operating in spring 2006.

Regional Seismicity

The CHASME deployment has improved analysis of regional arctic earthquakes. It has allowed us to locate smaller events than in the past, and has improved the locations of our larger events by giving us more coverage/data. An additional benefit is the redundancy provided by these extra stations whenever one of our sparse network of existing stations experiences an outage.

Lithospheric Structure

The CHASME seismograph stations, together with the Arctic stations of the Canadian National Seismograph Network, the POLARIS network and a temporary Geological Survey of Canada station on Baffin Island, have been used in two main studies to investigate the structure of the lithosphere across the region. Both studies used the data from large teleseismic earthquakes which were, in general, well-recorded by much of the network. The first study (Darbyshire, 2003) modelled crustal structure beneath the seismograph stations, using receiver function analysis. The results added to existing knowledge of High Arctic crustal thickness, and highlighted differences in crustal structure in the many different tectonic regimes across the region. Crustal thicknesses were found to vary from approximately 27 km in the northeast Arctic to 45 km below southern Baffin Island. Indications of three-dimensional structures and anisotropy within the crust were also found. The second study (Darbyshire, in press) used teleseismic Rayleigh waves to probe deeper into the mantle and investigate variations in the thickness and nature of the seismological lithosphere. The variations found correlate broadly with the known tectonics of the region, with the fastest, thickest lithosphere occurring beneath the Shield of the central-northern mainland, and the slowest lithosphere occurring beneath the northwestern Arctic, close to the continental margin.

The GLATIS project (Greenland Lithosphere Analysed Teleseismically on the Ice Sheet) is a joint venture between the Geological Survey of Denmark & Greenland, the National Survey & Cadastre, Denmark, the Danish Lithosphere Centre, the Geological Survey of Canada, the University of Copenhagen, Geoforschungszentrum Potsdam and Université Joseph-Fourier (Grenoble), France.

  • Darbyshire, F.A., 2005. Upper mantle structure of Arctic Canada from Rayleigh wave dispersion. Tectonophysics, in press.
  • Darbyshire, F.A., 2003. Crustal structure across the Canadian High Arctic region from teleseismic receiver function analysis. Geophysical Journal International 152, 372-391.

L'expérience canadienne de surveillance sismique dans l'Extrême Arctique (CHASME)

Glaçon

L'élaboration de l'expérience canadienne de surveillance sismique dans l'Extrême Arctique (CHASME) comportait deux objectifs principaux : améliorer la couverture offerte par le réseau dispersé dans la région de l'Extrême Arctique dans le but d'acquérir de nouveaux renseignements sur la sismicité locale et régionale, et étudier les variations régionales au niveau de la structure de la croûte et du manteau supérieur de manière plus détaillée que ce qui était possible auparavant. On a déployé sept stations sismiques temporaires à bande large dans les collectivités de l'Extrême Arctique canadien et de la partie occidentale du Groenland, cette dernière étant partagée avec le projet GLATIS en cours. Les stations ont été munies de numériseurs Orion nanométriques et de sismomètres CMG-3ESP et CMG-40T Guralp. Les numériseurs, qui ont été installés dans des bâtiments des collectivités, sont alimentés par le réseau local et entretenus par des exploitants locaux comme des agents de la GRC, des employés d'aéroports et des scientifiques locaux. Les stations ne sont pas exploitées en temps réel; les données sismiques de niveau II sont plutôt extraites périodiquement avec permutation des disques durs amovibles 2GB environ une fois par mois. Les données étaient ensuite expédiées au CNDS à Ottawa pour y être traitées et analysées.

Même si on prévoyait au départ, en l'an 2000, que ce déploiement temporaire durerait au plus quelques années, plusieurs stations étaient toujours en activité au printemps 2006.

Sismicité régionale

Le déploiement de CHASME a amélioré l'analyse des séismes arctiques régionaux. Il nous a permis de localiser de plus petits événements que par le passé et a amélioré la localisation d'événements plus importants en nous donnant une plus grande couverture/quantité de données. La redondance des données est un autre avantage que fournissent ces stations additionnelles en cas de panne de l'une des stations existantes de notre réseau dispersé.

Structure lithosphérique

Les stations sismographiques CHASME, avec les stations arctiques du Réseau canadien national sismologique, du réseau POLARIS et une station temporaire de la Commission Géologique du Canada sur l'île de Baffin, ont été utilisés dans deux études principales pour étudier la structure de la lithosphère à travers la région. Les deux études ont utilisé les données de grands séismes télésismiques qui étaient, en général, bien enregistré par le réseau. La première étude (Darbyshire, 2003) modélise la structure de la croûte sous les stations sismographiques, en utilisant une analyse de la fonction du récepteur. Les résultats sont ajoutés à la connaissance de l'épaisseur de la croûte Haut-Arctique, et mis en évidence des différences de structure de la croûte dans les différents régimes tectoniques dans la région. Ils ont découverts que l'épaisseurs de la croute terrestre varie d'environ 27 km dans le nord de l'Arctique à 45 km sous le sud de l'île de Baffin. Ils ont également découverts des indications de structures trois dimensions et de l'anisotropie à l'intérieur de la croûte. La deuxième étude (Darbyshire, sous presse) utilise des ondes de Rayleigh téléséismiques pour sonder plus profondément dans le manteau et étudier les variations dans l'épaisseur et la nature de la lithosphère sismologique. Les variations découverts on une large corrélation entre la tectonique connus de la région, le plus rapide et la plus épaisse lithosphère se produisant sous le Bouclier de la partie continentale de centre-nord, et le plus lent lithosphère se produisant sous le nord-ouest de l'Arctique, à proximité de la marge continentale.

Le projet GLATIS (Greenland Lithosphere Analysed Teleseismically on the Ice Sheet) est une joint-venture entre la Commission géologique du Danemark et Groenland, l'Enquête nationale et Cadastre, le Danemark, le Centre lithosphère danoise, la Commission géologique du Canada, l'Université de Copenhague, GeoForschungsZentrum Potsdam et Universit & eacute; Joseph-Fourier (Grenoble), France.

  • Darbyshire, F.A., 2005. Upper mantle structure of Arctic Canada from Rayleigh wave dispersion. Tectonophysics, in press.
  • Darbyshire, F.A., 2003. Crustal structure across the Canadian High Arctic region from teleseismic receiver function analysis. Geophysical Journal International 152, 372-391.