GSC END-USER AGREEMENT FOR DIGITAL DATA

THIS is a legal Agreement between you, the "End-User", and HER MAJESTY THE QUEEN IN RIGHT OF CANADA ("Canada"), represented by the Minister of Natural Resources regarding the terms and conditions of the use of Digital Data. BY OPENING THE DIGITAL DATA DELIVERED WITH THIS AGREEMENT, YOU ARE AGREEING TO BE BOUND BY THE TERMS OF THIS AGREEMENT. IF YOU DO NOT AGREE TO THE TERMS OF THIS AGREEMENT, PROMPTLY RETURN THE DIGITAL DATA TO THE GEOLOGICAL SURVEY OF CANADA.

WHEREAS Canada is the owner of the proprietary rights in the Digital Data delivered with this Agreement;

WHEREAS the End-User wishes to obtain the right to use the Digital Data;

and WHEREAS Canada is prepared to licence to the End-User the right to use the Digital Data for the End-Users' own internal use subject to the items and conditions hereinafter set forth.

NOW, THEREFORE, Canada and the End-User covenant and agree as follows:

  1. The End-User acknowledges that the Digital Data are protected under the Copyright Act of Canada.
  2. The Digital Data is licensed, not sold, to the End-User for use subject to the tems and conditions of this Agreement.
  3. The End-User shall use the Digital Data on a single computer. The End-User must obtain a supplementary licence from Canada before using the Digital Data in connection with systems, multiple central processing units, computer networks, or emulations on a mainframe or minicomputer. If the End-User is an employee of a library, or a member of the faculty, the staff or the students of an educational institution, public access may be provided from workstations on library premises for scholarly research, educational and personal use. Remote access by members of the public is not permitted.
  4. The End-User may make one (1) copy of the Digital Data for the purpose of backup only, which copy may not be used except in the event that the primary copy is damaged, destroyed or lost. The End-User shall reproduce on the backup copy the copyright notice.
  5. Except as provided in article 4, The End-User shall not duplicate or reproduce the Digital Data, nor authorize or allow any party to duplicate or reproduce the Digital Data, in whole or in part, in any form or format whatsoever without the prior written consent of Canada. If the End-User is an employee of a library, or a member of the faculty, the staff or the students of an educational institution, permitted access includes the retrieving, displaying, searching, downloading, printing and storing of individual articles for scholarly research, educational and personal use. Copying and storing of entire digital publications is not permitted.
  6. The End-User shall not sell, loan, lease, distribute, transfer or sublicense the Digital Data or otherwise assign any rights under this Agreement to any third party without the prior written consent of Canada.
  7. The Digital Data are provided on an "as is" basis and Canada makes no guarantees, representations or warranties respecting the Digital Data, either expressed or implied, arising by law or otherwise, including but not limited to, effectiveness, completeness, accuracy or fitness for a particular purpose.
  8. Canada shall not be liable in respect of any claim, demand or action, irrespective of the nature of the cause of the claim, demand or action alleging any loss, injury or damages, direct or indirect, which may result from the End-User's use or possession of the Digital Data or in any way relating to this Agreement. Canada shall not be liable in any way for loss of profits or contracts, or any other consequential loss of any kind resulting from the End-User's use or possession of the Digital Data or in any way attributable to this Agreement.
  9. The End-User shall indemnify and save harmless Canada and its Ministers, officers, employees and agents from and against any claim, demand or action, irrespective of the nature of the cause of the claim, demand or action, alleging loss, costs, expenses, damages or injuries (including injuries resulting in death) arising out of the End-User's use or possession of the Digital Data or in any way relating to this Agreement.
  10. This Agreement shall be interpreted in accordance with the laws in force in the Province of Ontario, Canada.

Page Resource Programme de Séismologie des tremblements de Terre

LA PRÉSENTE constitue une entente juridique entre vous, l'«utilisateur final», et SA MAJESTÉ LA REINE DU CHEF DU CANADA (ci-après le «Canada»), représentée par le ministre des Ressources naturelles, au sujet des modalités d'utilisation de données numériques. EN CONSULTANT LES DONNÉES NUMÉRIQUES, VOUS VOUS ENGAGEZ À RESPECTER LES MODALITÉS DE L'ENTENTE. SI VOUS N'ACCEPTEZ PAS CES MODALITÉS, VEUILLEZ RENVOYER IMMÉDIATEMENT LES DONNÉES NUMÉRIQUES À LA COMMISSION GÉOLOGIQUE DU CANADA.

ATTENDU QUE le Canada est détenteur des droits de propriété des données numériques livrées avec la présente entente;

ATTENDU QUE l'utilisateur final désire obtenir le droit d'utiliser les données numériques;

ET ATTENDU QUE le Canada est prêt à accorder à l'utilisateur final une licence lui donnant le droit sous réserve des conditions énoncées ci-après de se servir des données numériques pour combler ses besoins internes;

PAR CONSÉQUENT, le Canada et l'utilisateur final accusant réception de la contrepartie et s'en déclarant satisfaits conviennent de ce qui suit :

  1. L'utilisateur final convient que les données numériques sont protégées par la Loi sur le droit d'auteur du Canada.
  2. Les données numériques ne sont pas vendues; elles sont cédées sous licence à l'utilisateur final qui n'est autorisé à s'en servir que dans le respect des conditions énoncées dans la présente entente.
  3. L'utilisateur final ne doit se servir des données numériques que sur un seul ordinateur. Il doit obtenir une licence supplémentaire du Canada avant de les utiliser sur plusieurs systèmes, des unités centrales de traitement multiples ou des réseaux informatiques, ou encore sur de gros ordinateurs ou des mini-ordinateurs, par émulation. Si l'utilisateur final fait partie du personnel d'une bibliothèque, ou encore est membre de la faculté d'un établissement d'enseignement, de son personnel ou en est un étudiant, il peut avoir accès aux données numériques à partir de la bibliothèque et ce, à des fins de recherche universitaire, d'enseignement ou d'usage personnel. Il est interdit de fournir un accès public à distance.
  4. L'utilisateur final peut faire une (1) copie des données numériques à des fins de sauvegarde seulement. Cette copie ne doit être utilisée que si la première copie est endommagée, détruite ou perdue. Il doit reproduire sur la copie de sauvegarde l'avis de droit d'auteur.
  5. Sauf dans le cas visé à l'article 4 ci-dessus, l'utilisateur final ne doit pas copier ou reproduire les données numériques, ni autoriser ou laisser une tierce partie les copier ou les reproduire, en tout ou en partie, sous quelque forme que ce soit sans avoir obtenu au préalable le consentement écrit du Canada. Si l'utilisateur finalfait partie du personnel d'une bibliothèque, ou encore est membre de la faculté d'un établissement d'éducation, de son personnel ou en est un étudiant, il peut extraire des données numériques, les visualiser, y faire des recherches, les télécharger, les imprimer et les sauvegarder à des fins de recherche universitaire, d'enseignement ou d'usage personnel. Il est interdit de copier et de sauvegarder la totalité d'une publication numérique.
  6. L'utilisateur final ne doit pas vendre, prêter, louer, distribuer ni transférer les données numériques, ni concéder des sous-licences pour leur utilisation, ni autrement accorder des droits à une tierce partie dans le cadre du présent contrat, sans avoir obtenu au préalable le consentement écrit du Canada.
  7. Les données numériques sont fournies «telles quelles» à l'utilisateur final, et le Canada ne fait à leur sujet aucune représentation ou garantie, expresse ou tacite, découlant de la loi ou d'autres sources, en ce quiconcerne entre autres leur efficacité, leur intégralité, leur exactitude ou leur utilité à des fins particulières.
  8. Le Canada ne pourra faire l'objet de toute réclamation, exigence ou action en justice de quelque nature que ce soit alléguant une perte, des blessures ou des dommages pouvant découler directement ou indirectement de l'utilisation ou de la possession des données numériques, ou encore d'une disposition du présent contrat. Le Canada ne pourra être tenu responsable de tout manque à gagner, de toute perte de contrat ou de toute autre perte découlant de l'utilisation ou de la possession des données numériques, ou encore d'une disposition du présent contrat.
  9. L'utilisateur final doit tenir le Canada et ses ministres, ses représentants, ses employés et ses agents indemnes et à couvert contre toute réclamation, exigence ou action en justice de quelque nature que ce soit alléguant une perte, des coûts, des dépenses, des dommages ou des blessures (y compris des blessures mortelles) découlant de l'utilisation ou de la possession des produits numériques par l'utilisateur final, ou encore d'une disposition du présent contrat.
  10. Ce contrat doit être interprété à la lumière des lois en vigueur dans la province de l'Ontario, au Canada.