Earthquake zones in Eastern Canada

Background on earthquakes in eastern Canada

The continual shifting of large segments of the earth's crust, called tectonic plates, causes more than 97% of the world's earthquakes. Eastern Canada is located in a stable continental region within the North American Plate and, as a consequence, has a relatively low rate of earthquake activity. Nevertheless, large and damaging earthquakes have occurred here in the past and will inevitably occur in the future.

Rate of Activity

Each year, approximately 450 earthquakes occur in eastern Canada. Of this number, perhaps four will exceed magnitude 4, thirty will exceed magnitude 3, and about twenty-five events will be reported felt. A decade will, on average, include three events greater than magnitude 5. A magnitude 3 event is sufficiently strong to be felt in the immediate area, and a magnitude 5 event is generally the threshold of damage. The seismograph network of Earthquakes Canada can detect all events exceeding magnitude 3 in eastern Canada and all events magnitude 2.5 or greater in densely populated areas.

Causes

The causes of earthquakes in eastern Canada are not well understood. Unlike plate boundary regions where the rate and size of seismic activity is directly correlated with plate interaction, eastern Canada is part of the stable interior of the North American Plate. Seismic activity in areas like these seems to be related to the regional stress fields, with the earthquakes concentrated in regions of crustal weakness.

Zones sismiques du sud-est du Canada
Legend for map above

Although earthquakes can and do occur throughout most of eastern Canada, years of instrumental recordings have identified certain clusters of earthquake activity. In these clusters, earthquakes occur at depths varying from surface to 30 km (the deepest mine in Canada is 2 km deep). More information is available on the historical seismicity of the following regions in Eastern Canada:

Northeastern Ontario Seismic Zone

Map of historic events in the Northeastern Ontario Seismic Zone
Legend for map above

Northern Ontario has a very low level of seismic activity. From 1970 to 1999, on average only 1 or 2 magnitude 2.5 or greater earthquakes have been recorded in this large area. Two magnitude 5 earthquakes (1905, northern Michigan, and 1928, northwest of Kapuskasing) have occurred in this region.

Southern Great Lakes Seismic Zone

Map of historic events in the southern Great Lakes Seismic Zone
Legend for map above

This region has a low to moderate level of seismicity when compared to the more active seismic zones to the east, along the Ottawa River and in Quebec. Over the past 30 years, on average, 2 to 3 magnitude 2.5 or larger earthquakes have been recorded in the southern Great Lakes region. By comparison, over the same time period, the smaller region of Western Quebec experienced 15 magnitude 2.5 or greater earthquakes per year.

Three moderate sized (magnitude 5) events have occurred in the 250 years of European settlement of this region, all of them in the United States - 1929, Attica, New York, 1986, near Cleveland, Ohio, and 1998, near the Pennsylvania/Ohio border. All three of these earthquakes were widely felt in southern Ontario but caused no damage in Ontario.

Western Quebec Seismic Zone

The Western Quebec Seismic Zone constitutes a vast territory that encloses the Ottawa Valley from Montreal to Temiscaming, as well as the Laurentians and the Eastern Ontario. The urban areas of Montreal, Ottawa-Hull and Cornwall are located in this zone.

Map of historic events in the Western Quebec Seismic Zone
Legend for map above

The pattern of historical seismic activity recorded by the Canadian seismograph network since the beginning of the century shows the earthquakes concentrating in two sub-zones: one along the Ottawa River and the second along a more active Montreal-Maniwaki axis.

Historical Seismicity

The Western Quebec Zone was the site of at least three significant earthquakes in the past.

  • In 1732, an earthquake estimated at 5.8 on the Richter scale shook Montreal, causing significant damage.
  • In 1935, the area of Temiscaming was shaken by an earthquake of magnitude 6.2.
  • In 1944, an earthquake of magnitude 5.6, located between Cornwall, Ontario and Massena, N.Y., caused damage evaluated at two million dollars of the time.

From time to time, the area is also shaken by weaker earthquakes felt by the local population.

  • In 1990, an earthquake of magnitude 5 took place near Mont-Laurier, Quebec.
  • In 1996 and 1997, two earthquakes of magnitude 4.4 and 4.3 occurred near Ste-Agathe-des-Monts, Quebec.

An earthquake occurs in the Western Quebec Seismic Zone every five days on average.

More Information

  • View seismicity during the last 30 days.
  • Research papers describing the geological, geophysical and seismological characteristics of the seismic zone.

Charlevoix Seismic Zone

Located some 100 km downstream from Quebec City, the Charlevoix Seismic Zone (CSZ) is the most seismically active region of eastern Canada. As most earthquakes occur under the St. Lawrence River, between Charlevoix County on the north shore and Kamouraska County on the south shore, this region is also often referred to as the Charlevoix-Kamouraska Seismic Zone.

Map of historic events in the Charlevoix Seismic Zone
Legend for map above

Historically, the zone has been subject to five earthquakes of magnitude 6 or larger: in 1663 (Mag. 7); 1791 (Mag. 6); 1860 (Mag. 6); 1870 (Mag. 6 1/2); and 1925 (magnitude MS 6.2 ± 0.3). Since the 1925 event was the only one recorded by seismographs, the previous events have approximate magnitudes evaluated using felt areas and damage. Similarly, pre-instrumental locations of events are less precise. Overall, the distribution of historical and recent events shows an earthquake concentration between La Malbaie and Rivière-du-Loup.

The earthquake potential of the CSZ led the GSC to conduct two field surveys in 1970 and 1974. These two surveys clearly delineated the CSZ to be an active zone about 30 by 85 km, elongated along the St. Lawrence River, and enclosing the towns of Baie-St-Paul, La Malbaie and La Pocatière.

Earthquake Hypocentres

Since 1977, a seven-station local seismograph network, centred on the active zone, has monitored the earthquake activity. The current CSZ network detects more than 200 earthquakes per year. Based on historical and current earthquake rates, the CSZ is the zone of highest seismic hazard in continental eastern Canada.

Due to its dense seismograph network, the CSZ is the only eastern Canadian region where the focal depth of earthquakes can be routinely calculated. The hypocentres located over the years have provided an insight into the CSZ seismotectonics.

Most earthquakes cluster along or between the mapped Iapetan faults (also called St. Lawrence paleo-rift faults). CSZ earthquakes occur in the Canadian Shield, between the surface and 30 km depth, beneath Logan's line and the Appalachians.

On average, an earthquake occurs in the Charlevoix region every day and a half.

More information

Lower St. Lawrence Seismic Zone

Located some 400 km downstream from Quebec City in the estuary of the St. Lawrence River, the Lower St. Lawrence Seismic Zone (LSZ) is a seismically active region of eastern Canada. As most earthquakes occur under the St. Lawrence River, between the regions of the Quebec North Shore and the Lower St. Lawrence, this zone is sometimes refered to as the "Lower-St. Lawrence-Quebec North Shore" Seismic Zone.

Map of historic events in the Lower St Lawrence Seismic Zone
Legend for map above

Unlike the Charlevoix Seismic Zone, no large earthquake has ever been reported or recorded in the LSZ. Only two events are known to have exceeded magnitude 5.0. On June 23, 1944, an earthquake of magnitude 5.1 on the Richter scale occurred occurred near Godbout, east of Baie-Comeau. More recently, on March 16, 1999, an earthquake of magnitude 5.1 occurred in this region, at about 60 km south of Sept-Iles.

The region is closely monitored by a network of five local stations of the Canadian National Seismograph Network. With the current network, all earthquakes larger than about magnitude 2 on the Richter scale can be located. Hence, all earthquakes that could be felt (i.e. larger than magnitude 2.5) can be detected by the network and located by the analysts of the Geological Survey of Canada.

About 60 events are recorded in the LSZ annually. Most earthquakes occur under the St. Lawrence River, within a triangular zone defined by the towns of Baie-Comeau, Sept-Iles, and Matane on the south shore.

Although the network is not sufficiently dense to accurately determine earthquake focal depths, it can be assumed that the active zone lies in the mid- to upper crust, between 5 and 25 km depth, similar to the Charlevoix Seismic Zone (CSZ). From some focal mechanism determinations (see references below) and by analogy with the CSZ, most earthquakes probably cluster along or between the mapped Iapetan faults (also called St. Lawrence paleo-rift faults), beneath the Logan's line and the Appalachians.

A Lower St. Lawrence earthquake occurs every five days on average.

More Information

  • View seismicity during the last 30 days.
  • Research papers describing the geological, geophysics and seismological characteristics of the seismic zone.

Northern Appalachians Seismic Zone

The Northern Appalachians Seismic Zone includes most of New Brunswick and extends into New England down to Boston.

Map of historic events in the Northern Appalacians Seismic Zone
Legend for map above

In the Miramichi area of central New Brunswick, a series of significant earthquakes occurred in 1982 (largest M5.7) and was followed by numerous aftershocks thereafter. The zone also witnesses a continuing low level of seismic activity including many larger historic earthquakes in New Brunswick.

Laurentian Slope Seismic Zone

The Laurentian Slope Seismic Zone comprises an area off Canada's southeast coast, which includes the Grand Banks of Newfoundland.

Map of historic events in the Lower St. Lawrence Seismic Zone
Legend for map above

In 1929 a large M7.2 earthquake occurred near the Grand Banks and was responsible for a large tsunami (seismic sea-wave) which tragically drowned 27 people when it came ashore on the Burin Peninsula in southern Newfoundland. This was one of the few incidents involving loss of life in any recorded Canadian earthquake.

Les zones sismiques dans l'Est du Canada

Information générale

Le déplacement continuel de larges segments de la croûte terrestre, appelés plaques tectoniques, provoque plus de 97% des séismes dans le monde. L'Est du Canada est situé dans une région continentale stable de la plaque de l'Amérique du Nord, entraînant par conséquence une activité sismique relativement faible. Néanmoins, des séismes dévastateurs de forte magnitude s'y sont produits dans le passé et se produiront inévitablement dans l'avenir.

Taux d'activité

Chaque année, environ 450 séismes se produisent dans l'Est du pays. De ce nombre, quatre en moyenne dépassent la magnitude 4, trente dépassent la magnitude 3 et vingt-cinq autres sont ressentis. Au cours d'un cycle de 10 ans, trois séismes en moyenne dépassent la magnitude 5. Un séisme de magnitude 3 est suffisant pour être ressenti dans la région environnante et un séisme de magnitude 5 marque, en général, le seuil pour qu'un événement provoque des dommages. Le réseau sismologique de Séisme Canada peut détecter toute secousse dépassant la magnitude 3 dans l'Est du Canada et toute secousse de magnitude 2,5 dans les régions densément peuplées.

Causes

On ne connaît pas très bien les causes des séismes dans l'Est du Canada. Contrairement aux régions situées en bordure des plaques tectoniques, où la fréquence et l'ampleur de l'activité sismique sont directement liées à l'interaction des plaques, l'Est du Canada se trouve dans une zone stable, à l'intérieur de la plaque de l'Amérique du Nord. L'activité sismique dans de telles régions semble être liée à des champs de contraintes régionaux, étant donné que les séismes se concentrent dans les zones de faiblesse de la croûte terrestre.

Zones sismiques du sud-est du Canada
Légende pour la carte ci-dessus

Bien que des séismes puissent se produire et se produisent effectivement dans presque tout l'Est du Canada, des années d'enregistrement des secousses ont permis de delimiter certaines zones d'activité sismique. Dans ces zones, les séismes se produisent à des profondeurs variant de la surface à 30 km (la mine la plus profonde au Canada se trouve à 2 km de profondeur). Plus d'information est disponible sur la sismicité historique des régions suivantes dans le Sud-Est du Canada :

La zone Nord-Est de l'Ontario

Tremblements de terre dans le nord-est d'Ontario
Légende pour la carte ci-dessus

Le nord de l'Ontario a un très faible niveau d'activité sismique. De 1970 à 1999, seulement 1 ou 2 séismes en moyenne dépassant la magnitude 2,5 ont été enregistrés dans cette grande zone. Deux tremblements de terre de magnitude 5 (1905, dans le nord de Michigan, et 1928, nord-ouest de Kapuskasing) se sont produits dans cette région.

Zone des Grands Lacs du sud de l'Ontario

Carte des événements historiques dans la Zone des Grands Lacs du sud de l'Ontario
Légende pour la carte ci-dessus

L'activité sismique dans cette région est faible à modéré comparée aux zones simques plus actives à l'Est comme le long du fleuve d'Ottawa et au Québec. Au cours des 30 dernières années, en moyenne 2 ou 3 séismes dépassent la magnitude 2,5 par années dans la régionSud des Grands Lacs. Par comparaison, au cours de la même période de temps, dans la zone sismique de l'Ouest du Québec, qui est plus petite, 15 tremblements de terres en moyenne dépassent la magnitude 2.5 chaque année.

Trois événements modérés (de magnitude 5) se sont produits dans les dernières 250 années, tous aux Etats-Unis - 1929, Attica, New York (anglais); 1986, près de Cleveland, Ohio (anglais); et en 1998, près de la frontière entre la Pennsylvanie et l'Ohio (anglais). Ces trois séismes ont été largement ressentis dans le sud de l'Ontario mais n'ont pas causé de dégâts dans l'Ontario.

L'Ouest du Québec

La zone sismique de l'Ouest du Québec constitue un vaste territoire comprenant la vallée de l'Outaouais depuis Montréal jusqu'au Témiscamingue, ainsi que les régions des Laurentides et de l'Est de l'Ontario. Les régions urbaines de Montréal, d'Ottawa-Hull et de Cornwall sont donc localisées dans cette zone.

Carte des événements historiques dans L'Ouest du Québec
Légende pour la carte ci-dessus

Sur cette carte des épicentres, les séismes historiques et l'activité sismique enregistrée par le réseau sismologique canadien depuis le début du siècle définissent assez clairement les frontières de la Zone de l'Ouest du Québec. Grosso modo, les séismes se concentrent en deux sous-zones: une le long de la rivière des Outaouais et une plus active, le long d'un axe Montréal-Maniwaki.

Sismicité historique

La Zone de l'Ouest du Québec a connu au moins trois séismes importants dans le passé.

  • En 1732, un séisme estimé à 5,8 sur l'échelle de Richter a secoué Montréal, causant des dommages importants.
  • En 1935, la région du Témiscamingue a été secouée par un séisme de magnitude 6,2.
  • En 1944, un séisme de magnitude 5,6 localisé entre Cornwall (Ontario) et Massena, N.Y., causa des dommages évalués à deux millions de dollars de l'époque.

De temps à autres, la région est aussi secouée par des séismes plus faibles, mais néanmoins ressenti par la population locale.

  • En 1990, un séisme de magnitude 5 a eu lieu près de Mont-Laurier (Québec).
  • En 1996 et 1997, deux séismes de magnitude 4,4 et 4,3 se sont produits près de Ste-Agathe-des-Monts (Québec).

Tous les cinq jours en moyenne un séisme se produit dans la zone de l'Ouest du Québec.

Plus d'informations

  • Voir la sismicité au cours des 30 derniers jours
  • Plusieurs articles traitant des caractéristiques géologiques, géophysiques et sismologiques de la zone sismique de l\'Ouest du Québec.

Charlevoix-Kamouraska

Localisée à 100 kilomètres en aval de la ville de Québec, la zone sismique de Charlevoix (ZSC) est la plus active de l'Est du Canada. Puisque la plupart des séismesse produisent sous le fleuve St. Laurent, entre le comté de Charlevoix sur la rive Nord et le comté de Kamouraska sur la rive Sud, cette région est aussi souvent nommée Zone Sismique de Charlevoix-Kamouraska.

Carte des événements historiques dans la region Charlevoix-Kamouraska
Légende pour la carte ci-dessus

Historiquement, la zone a été sujette à cinq séismes de magnitude égale ou supérieure à 6 : en 1663 (mag. 7); 1791 (mag. 6); 1860 (mag. 6); 1870 (mag. 6 1/2); et 1925 (magnitude MS 6,2 ±0,3). Seul le séisme de 1925 fut enregistré par des sismographes, les événements antérieurs ont donc des magnitudes et des localisations estimées sur des isoséistes et les dommages causés. De façon générale, la distribution des événements historiques et récents montre une concentration de tremblements de terre entre La Malbaie et Rivière-du-Loup.

Le potentiel sismique de la ZSC a mené la Direction de la physique du Globe (DPG), maintenant intégrée à la Commission géologique du Canada (CGC), à effectuer des levés de terrain en 1970 et 1974. Ces deux études ont clairement défini les limites de la ZSC, c.-à-d. une zone active d'environ 30 par 85 kilomètres, allongée le long du fleuve Saint-Laurent, englobant les villes de Baie-St-Paul, La Malbaie et La Pocatière.

Foyers des séismes

Depuis 1977, un réseau local de sismographes de sept postes centré sur la zone active surveille les tremblements de terre. Le réseau actuel de la ZSC détecte plus de 200 tremblements de terre par an. La fréquence des séismes historiques et le rythme actuel des séismes plus pet its fait de la ZSC la zone à plus haut péril sismique de l' Est du Canada continental.

En raison de son réseau dense de sismographes, le ZSC est la seule région de l'Est du Canada où la profondeur focale des tremblements de terre peut être par calculée de façon routinière. Les hypocentres localisés au cours des années ont permis de mieux comprendre la sismo-tectonique de la ZSC.

La plupart des séismes sont concentrés le long ou entre des failles de l'océan Iapetus (également appelés le paleo-rift du St-Laurent). Les tremblements de terre de la ZSC se produisent dans le bouclier canadien, entre la surface et 30 kilomètres de profondeur, sous la ligne de Logan et les Appalaches.

Un séisme de Charlevoix se produit à tous les jours et demi en moyenne.

Plus d'informations

Bas-Saint-Laurent

Localisée à 400 kilomètres en aval de la ville du Québec dans l'estuaire du fleuve Saint-Laurent, la Zone sismique du Bas-Saint-Laurent (BSL) est une région sismiquement active de l'Est du Canada.

Carte des événements historiques dans le Bas-Saint-Laurent
<
Légende pour la carte ci-dessus

Contrairement à la zone sismique de Charlevoix, aucun grand tremblement de terre n'a jamais été rapporté ou enregistré. Deux seuls événements ont dépassé magnitude 5,0 jusqu'ici. Le 23 juin 1944, un séisme de magnitude 5,1 sur l'échelle de Richter s'est produit près de Godbout, à l'est de Baie-Comeau. Récemment, le 16 mars 1999, un séisme de magnitude 5,1 s'est produit dans cette région, à une soixantaine de kilomètres au sud de Sept-Iles.

La région est étroitement surveillée par un réseau de cinq stations locales du réseau sismologique national canadien. Ces stations sont: CNQ: Côte Nord; ICQ, Islets-Caribou; SMQ: Rivière Ste-Marguerite; MNQ: Manic-3; et GSQ: Grosses-Roches, sur la rive sud. Avec le réseau actuel, tout séisme plus grand que magnitude 2,0 sur l'échelle de Richter peut être localisé. Par conséquent, tout tremblement de terre ressenti par la population (c.-à-d. plus grand que magnitude 2.5) peut être détecté par le réseau et localisé par les analystes de la Commission géologique du Canada.

Annuellement, environ 60 événements sont enregistrés. La plupart des tremblements de terre se produisent sous le fleuve Saint-Laurent, dans une zone triangulaire définie par les villes de Baie-Comeau, Sept-Iles et Matane, sur la rive sud.

Bien que le réseau ne soit pas suffisamment dense pour déterminer la profondeur des foyers des tremblements de terre, on peut présumer que les séismes se produisent dans la croûte moyenne à supérieure, entre 5 et 25 kilomètres de profondeur, semblable à la zone sismique de Charlevoix (ZSC). D'après certains mécanismes au foyer (voir références ci-bas) et par analogie avec la ZSC, la plupart des tremblements de terre se produisent le long ou entre des failles de l'océan Iapetus (également appelés le paleo-rift du St-Laurent), sous la ligne de Logan et les Appalaches.

Puisqu'à tous les cinq jours en moyenne un tremblement de terre se produit dans la zone.

Plus d'informations

Nord des Appalaches

La zone sismique du Nord des Appalaches (NAN) inclut la majeure partie du Nouveau-Brunswick et s'étend jusqu'en Nouvelle-Angleterre.

Carte des événements historiques dans le Nord des Appalaches
Légende pour la carte ci-dessus

Une série de séismes importants se sont produits en 1982 dans la région de la Miramichi, au centre du Nouveau-Brunswick; le plus important avait une magnitude de 5,7 et cette région continue de subir les répliques de ces séismes, de même qu'une activité sporadique de séismes plus faibles, incluant plusieurs grands séismes historiques au Nouveau-Brunswick.

Talus laurentien (LSP)

La zone de la talus laurentien, au large de la côte sud-est du Canada incluant les Grands Bancs de Terre-Neuve.

Carte des événements historiques dans le Talus laurentien
Légende pour la carte ci-dessus

En 1929, un séisme de magnitude 7,2 s'est produit près des Grands Bancs, provoquant un tsunami qui entraîna la mort par noyade de 27 personnes lorsqu'il atteignit la côte de la péninsule Burin. Ce fut l'un des rares séismes qui causèrent des pertes de vie au Canada.