Hypocentre of the 1925 Charlevoix-Kamouraska earthquake

The main shock was recorded by 29 seismograph stations worldwide. The evening of the main shock, seismologist E.A. Hodgson located the epicentre at about 70 km downstream from Quebec City using the horizontal component records from the station at Ottawa. He first deduced the azimuth from the relative amplitudes on the North-South and East-West components; then he calculated the epicentral distance from the difference in arrival times between the P and the S waves. The same evening, he was able to tell the press about the epicentre!

The epicentre location in Charlevoix-Kamouraska was confirmed by the analysis of seismograms recorded on numerous seismograph stations. In Canada, five stations recorded this earthquake: Ottawa, Halifax, Toronto, Saskatoon and Victoria. Field trips, conducted by E.A. Hodgson during the next two years confirmed the location of the epicentre (see scientific work).

According to more recent work (Stevens, 1980), the earthquake occurred near Île aux Lièvres, an area where numerous earthquakes with magnitudes larger than 4.0 have occurred during the XXth century. Another study has established the focal depth at about 10 km beneath the surface (Bent, 1993), a depth similar to the average for Charlevoix earthquakes.

Foyer du séisme de Charlevoix-Kamouraska en 1925

Le choc principal fut enregistré par 30 stations sismographiques dans le monde. Le soir même du séisme, le sismologue E.A. Hodgson a pu établir la position de l'épicentre à environ 70 km en aval de Québec d'après les sismogrammes des composantes horizontales. Il a d'abord déduit l'azimuth d'après les amplitudes relatives sur les composantes Nord-Sud et Est-Ouest, puis a mesuré le temps séparant les ondes P et S, ce qui lui a procuré la distance à l'épicentre. Le soir même, il a pu divulguer cette information à la presse!

La position de l'épicentre dans Charlevoix-Kamouraska fut confirmée autant par l'analyse des temps d'arrivée des ondes sismiques enregistrés sur plusieurs postes sismographiques. Au Canada, cinq postes ont enregistré ce séisme, Ottawa, Halifax, Toronto, Saskatoon et Victoria, C.-B.. Des études de terrain faites menées par E.A. Hodgson dans les mois suivant le choc principal ont confirmé la localisation de l'épicentre (voir travail scientifique).

D'après une étude récente (Stevens, 1980), on a pu établir que le séisme se serait produit dans le secteur de l'Île aux Lièvres, une région où plusieurs séismes de magnitude 4,0 et plus se sont produit au cours du XXe siècle. D'autres analyses ont évalué la profondeur du foyer à environ 10 km sous la surface (Bent, 1993), donc dans la moyenne pour les séismes de cette région.