More strong earthquakes in Charlevoix-Kamouraska?

Numerous historical earthquakes and the annually recorded seismic activity indicate a geologically unstable situation. This fact is recognized and accounted for in the seismic zoning charts used in the National Building Code of Canada.

It can not be predicted when a large earthquake will occur. No viable method currently exists to predict the time and place of an earthquake, either in Canada, or elsewhere in the world. The approach recommended by the Geological Survey of Canada is one of prevention by organizations and individuals. Moreover, building codes help assure the protection of the public against earthquakes.

You can prepare to deal with an earthquake. As an individual you have the responsibility to know what to do before, during and after an earthquake. Before, one must be aware of the possible danger, and be prepared to face an emergency situation. The home can be made more earthquake resistant. During an earthquake, if inside a building get under a solid desk or table as protection against falling debris.

For more information:

  1. Earthquakes Canada Geological Survey of Canada 7 Observatory Crescent Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0Y3

  2. Self-Help Advice for Families and Individuals - Be Prepared, Not Scared

  3. Make your home earthquake resistant

D'autres forts séismes dans Charlevoix-Kamouraska?

Les nombreux séismes historiques et les séismes enregistrés annuellement indiquent une situation instable d'un point de vue géologique. Ce fait est d'ailleurs reconnu dans les cartes de zonage sismique utilisé dans le code national du bâtiment du Canada.

On ne peut prévoir quand se produira un tremblement de terre important. Personne ne peut prévoir l'endroit ou le moment des séismes puisqu'il n'existe aucune méthode fiable de prévision des tremblements de terre, au Canada, ou ailleurs dans le monde. L'approche privilégiée par la Commission Géologique du Canada en est une de prévention de la part des organisations et des individus, plutôt que de prévision ponctuelle. De plus, les Codes du bâtiment assure une protection contre les mouvements du sol.

Vous pouvez vous préparer à faire face à un sésime important. Comme individu, vous avez la responsabilité de savoir quoi faire avant, pendant et après un séisme. Avant, il faut se renseigner et se préparer à faire face à une situation d'urgence. On peut améliorer la résistance de son domicile. Pendant un séisme, si à l'intérieur d'un édifice, on doit se mettre à l'abri sous un bureau ou une table solide, pour éviter de se faire blesser par des objets qui tombent.

Pour en savoir plus:

  1. Séismes Canada Commission Géologique du Canada 7, Place de l'Observatoire Ottawa, (Ontario) K1A 0Y3

  2. Conseils pratiques - Sepréparer, non s'inquiéter

  3. Sur les mesures à prendre pour rendre votre domicile plus résistant aux vibrations des séismes.